Skip to content

Chocolate Coated Figs Stuffed with White Chocolate Cointreau Ganache

 

figblog1

I know this a bit of a long title for a little post but I thought ‘fig truffle’ just didn’t do them justice. I bought these beautiful figs from the local veggie store at the weekend and yes, I know I’m probably one of very few people who buy them, everyone else seems to have them by the bucket load in their garden or rotting away under the boughs of the tree but no one has kindly sent any my way yet so I bought my own before the season comes to an end.  The intention was to make a fig & aniseed cake but they were just so perfect in shape I couldn’t bear to slice or chop them so I decided to use them in their full form. And what better way than to turn them into a  beautiful truffle. 

The key is to have really ripe fresh figs which are beautifully red on the inside and soft to touch on the outside, but not bruised. 

Ingredients

  • 6 fresh figs
  • 50ml whipping cream
  • 100g white chocolate
  • 1 tbsp cointreau
  • zest of half an orange
  • 200g dark chocolate (70%)

Method

  1. Cover a tray with greaseproof paper, this is for sitting the prepared figs on.
  2. Put cream into a bowl and heat in microwave to almost boiling.
  3. Add chopped white chocolate to the cream, the heat of cream will melt the chocolate. Stir till completely melted.
  4. Add cointreau and zest to the white chocolate and refridgerate till firm enough to pipe.
  5. Make a small opening at the base of each fig, enough to fit a piping nozzle in only.
  6. Fill a piping bag & nozzle with the white chocolate ganache.
  7. Insert the nozzle into one of the figs and fill with ganache until the ganache starts to squeeze out. Place on a plate bottom down to prevent ganache from squeezing out.
  8. Repeat with all of the figs and refridgerate again till ready to use.
  9. Melt dark chocolate in a small bowl just big enough to fit one fig. 
  10. Dip each fig into the dark chocolate and fully coat, using a spoon to cover completely. let any excess drip off or smooth excess off with a knife and place on prepared greaseproof tray. 
  11. Refridgerate until set then serve.  
  12. Will keep several days but no longer since they are fresh fruit.
15 Comments Post a comment
  1. Those look too good! I’m on the hunt for fresh figs now!

    May 5, 2009
  2. I’ve never seen anything like these. They look fantastic!

    May 5, 2009
  3. Fig truffle sounds good, too, but that title just says it ALL! I am printing this out. In early fall, I am catering an anniversary dinner (well, not really catering, there are only 20 people and it is family, but still!) and this is the perfect elegant dessert!

    May 5, 2009
  4. This is BRILLIANT!

    May 5, 2009
  5. wimbittworld #

    How amazingly decadent. These sound perfect. i can’t wait to try it myself :)

    May 5, 2009
  6. Ooh, those look scrumptious!

    May 6, 2009
  7. Peggasus #

    This would be my perfect dessert. If, you know, I could ever get fresh figs. Which I can’t, so it makes me mad that people let them rot away. Fools!

    FABulous idea. I will remember this.

    May 6, 2009
  8. Oh my goodness, this looks so unbelievably delicious~ I love fresh figs, and am always looking for creative ways to serve them. Fig season is right around the corner in Southern California, and I’m definitely going to make this. Beautiful job!

    May 7, 2009
  9. Here I thought this was going to be a product review, because your figs look so professionally dipped! Really beautiful, and they would make for fantastic gifts, too.

    May 8, 2009
  10. I like fig with aniseed but have never tried them with chocolate. This sounds quite interesting.

    May 12, 2009
  11. zoe #

    I love this dessert. You are so talented!

    May 26, 2009
  12. Evie #

    Hi wonderful recipes for May, i love the choc coated figs stuffed with white chococlate, in fact i love all of the recipes, should try making them myself!!!
    Will be seeing you soon over here i hope, we are going to have the hottest day of the year so far tomorrow, and they say that June July and August could be our hottest months ever, even hotter than Spain.
    Love from us two.

    May 29, 2009
  13. Wow! These look delish. So where can I get fresh figs in South Dakota??

    September 9, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Gosh, I have no idea since I live on the opposite side of the world to you! They would normally be in season late summer, early autumn though.

      September 9, 2009
  14. Kimberlee #

    We have a fig orchard and we have never done these. I saw and artical in a mag about chocolate covered figs and it sounds wonderful. This looks great and I’m sure will be a family favorite from now on. Thank you so much!

    January 14, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,266 other followers

