Skip to content

Flower Petal Cupcakes

flowercupcakeblog

I am supposed to be practicing cup cake designs over the past few months for a certain wedding cake! I only realised yesterday that I have two weeks before we fly to Europe and not a single design in site…eek. I have the beautiful filigree cup cake wrapper to enclose them which I shipped especially from Sydney to Auckland but they haven’t seen the light of day since they came through the door a few months ago. And I know it is going to be a chocolate orange mix with a ganache butter cream on top but that’s a far as the mental planning has gone. 

I had some extra cake mixture over from the little fig cakes I made so decided to turn it into cupcakes for a trial run on fondant flower shapes and colours. This is what I made with the first batch and realise that I am going to have to do far more test batches in the next two weeks since the cupcake cases are too small for the filigree wrapper and I didn’t like any of the colour combinations I tried, nor the flower cutter shape……nothing like leaving things to the last minute hey? 

Here’s a recipe anyway for a batch of cupcakes I used on the Easter cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • 125g sugar
  • 125g SR flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • zest of one lemon (optional)

Method

  1. Place 8-10 cup cake cases into a muffin tray, this help hold the shape of the cup cake.
  2. Place butter & sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or good old fashioned wooded spoon until light and fluffy.
  3. Add one egg at a time and whisk in between both additions.
  4. Sift flour into mixture and fold gently through with a metal spoon so not to loose all the air that has been beaten in.
  5. Spoon mixture into cases, generally it is advise to fill them three quarters full but I am certainly not the expert! I was offered a great tip from someone who read my blog and suggested using an ice cream scoop to get a consistent size, brilliant.
  6. Bake in oven for 25- 30 minutes or until an inserted knife comes out of the sponge clean.
  7. Allow to cool before removing from tin.
  8. Mine I have topped with butter icing (butter & icing sugar) and fondant decorations.
12 Comments Post a comment
  1. They look really beautiful. The wrapper is gorgeous too.

    May 20, 2009
  2. Adorable! Good luck on the cake- looks like you won’t need to try out too many other designs :)

    May 20, 2009
  3. Marina #

    ciao ! Beautifulllllllll cupcakes!
    See you soon!
    Marina

    May 20, 2009
  4. Oh beautiful!!!!!! Very cute cupcakes, decoration and remikins! I love it all!
    I think you’ve already got what it takes to decorate a gorgeous cake :)

    May 20, 2009
  5. oneordinaryday #

    They look beautiful. Very pretty presentation.

    May 20, 2009
  6. Those cupcake wrappers are adorable! I would have shipped them in too.

    May 21, 2009
  7. I so envy u going to Paris with a patisserie book. That something I would love to do. Is it David Lebwoitz’s book? Hubby has been promising me a trip to paris for a while. Theres a couple places there that I really want to go to. I hope you do a blog on it, cause I would love to read it. So cool that you are coming to the UK, if you want any recommendations for foodie haunts I have tons!!!

    May 21, 2009
  8. I have left an award for you on my website called “One Lovely Blog Award” Its for cool and recently discovered websites. Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

    May 22, 2009
  9. Y #

    Those look so delicate and pretty!

    June 6, 2009
  10. Michelle #

    They are beautiful! can you tell me how to get those wrappers? im getting married and would love to use. thank you good luck

    October 8, 2009
  11. Sneha #

    Where did you get those cupcake holders? Those are beautiful! The cupcakes look gorgeous!!

    July 28, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi, not sure if you live in NZ but places like ‘Living & Giving’, Stevens & Millies Kitchen sell them. If not you can google filigree cupcake case and you should be able to locate someone selling them online. Good luck finding them!

      July 29, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,732 other followers

