Skip to content

Banana & Almond Teacakes – Gluten & Dairy Free

bananatea

The banana teacakes came about last week when I was in Sydney for work and we had a few bananas ripening perfectly for banana cake. Although the apartment we were staying in was well stocked it wasn’t really set up for a full on backing session so no sooner had my mind turned to baking which it permanantly does, did I realise that there was no flour or baking powder in the cupboards. Amazing..a cupboard without the essentials ingredients!

Not to be deterred, I found ground almonds and we had plenty of eggs, so I figured if we used enough eggs and whisked them to a meringue consistency it would keep the sponge cake light. With just 4 ingredients, ground almonds, honey, bananas and eggs I was surprised how well the cakes turned out, so much so I had made them again this weekend once I was back home so that I could photograph them and share the recipe on my Blog. I felt no guilt at eating these cakes twice in a week, after all one could say they were actually very healthy!

These tea cakes come out very light and fluffy due to them not having any fat content as well as no flour. I made a double batch this weekend because all last week, after eating the banana teacake, I was thinking about how well the teacakes would make a great base for a gluten free banoffee pie-cake, which I will post in the next day or two. As I said I constantly think of baking even while working! Believe it or not but I have a pad next to my laptop in work to make notes as ideas pop into my head! Of course I am busy at work but we women are good at mutli-tasking aren’t we?

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 100g ground almonds
  • 3 very ripe bananas, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • sliced almonds to decorate, optional

Method

  1. heat oven to 160 degrees centigrade.
  2. Place the egg yolks, honey and sliced bananas into a bowl and blend with a whiz stick or electric whisk for 2 minutes. Mixture will become light and fluffy, doubling in volume.
  3. Add ground almonds to egg yolk mixture and fold through.
  4. Whisk eggs whites to ‘soft peak’ consistency.
  5. Fold egg yolk and egg white mixture together, do not beat as this is key to the cake rising and staying light.
  6. Spoon into mini cake moulds or into cupcake cases and sprinkle sliced almonds on top.
  7. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Note, they do not go very brown probably because there is no fat or high sugar content in them.
9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow I love how simply and healthy these are but oh so lovely!!

    September 5, 2009
  2. m #

    These look like a delicious way to get rid of old bananas – I’ll have to share with a few gluten-free friends!

    September 5, 2009
  3. shirley #

    ahhh fantastic!!! will definitely have to give these a go!!

    September 5, 2009
  4. NO guilt indeed! These would qualify for a healthy breakfast. I am bookmarking and will be making them, thank you!

    September 6, 2009
  5. these teacakes look like pretty little bits of perfection. :) lovely. x

    September 6, 2009
  6. wow! no dairy and no flour?? They came out real cute!

    September 6, 2009
  7. Me encanta!!! esta receta tengo que hacerla, se ven tan esponjosos ummmmm

    September 8, 2009
  8. I am going to try and make these this weekend for a girls brunch I’m having. They looks fantastic!!!!! I found them on tastespotting.

    March 1, 2010
  9. Melissa #

    Absolutely delicious! Thanks so much for sharing! :)

    June 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,250 other followers

