Skip to content

Lemon Curd Yoghurt Ice Cream

lemon-icecream

This blog is donated  to LiveSTRONG With A Taste Of Yellow. LiveSTRONG With A Taste Of Yellow has been established to raise awareness of cancer issues world wide. It is a way for all food and wine bloggers to share their stories. The happy and the sad, the struggles and the triumphs. For the past three years, Barbara of winoandfoodies has gathered food bloggers around the world to create a yellow dish in support of the Lance Armstrong Foundation to raise cancer awareness.

Although we have several months to go till it is summer again here in New Zealand we have just had a glorious week with blue skies and sunshine. It turned my thought to summertime and ice cream and within that split second it went from thought to action was my ice cream maker bowl was in the freezer compartment in preparation. I still have oodles of lemon curd in jars and I had just made a batch of Greek yoghurt the night before so what better ingredients to create a summer dessert, albeit still winter in NZ but there is no harm in encouraging the summer to approach earlier! I only prayed that the weather would hold long enough to get it made and eaten, I couldn’t imagine consuming it if our temperatures dropped back down to 4 degrees again!

I’ve not made ice cream from yoghurt before, and I’m not sure it is officially classed as ice cream since it is not made with a custard base, but what the heck. The end result was delicious, very citrusy, tart and light on the palette, I am converted to yoghurt ice cream and feel a little more virtuous since I made low fat Greek yoghurt!

Ingredients

  • 600ml low fat Greek yoghurt (or regular of course!)
  • 6 dessert spoons lemon curd (approx 1 small jar)
  • zest of one small lemon

Method

  • Whisk together the lemon curd, zest and yoghurt.
  • Add to ice making machine and prepare as per manufacturers instructions.
  • Remove from machine once done and eat! How easy is that? Oh how I love my ice cream maker!
10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Chanel #

    The ice cream looks lovely, your photographs are really wonderful too. Down here in VIC, Australia we managed to get a 28C day, ice cream would have gone done a treat.

    September 12, 2009
  2. This is sooooooooooo perfect! I cant tell you how excited I am about this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing. Beautiful photo!

    September 12, 2009
  3. I bet this is really good, love that you used greek yogurt.

    September 12, 2009
  4. What a beautifully simple recipe! I can’t wait to try it!

    Susan

    September 12, 2009
  5. mmmm. What a great recipe. I’d love to have a taste of this right now. Also, your cups and spoons are adorable! Where did you find them?

    September 12, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      The spoons I bought from a local kitchenware store in West Auckland, http://www.mixnmatch.co.nz, unfortunately they aren’t branded so I’m unsure who makes them. The blue pots I brought all the way back from France this summer, I purchased them in Carrefore supermarket with yoghurt in! The French even make their yoghurt chic :o)

      September 13, 2009
  6. Y #

    Love the Summery photo. Reminds me that I made yuzu/yogurt sorbet the other day. Just as light and refreshing. Will definitely need to feature more frozen yogurt treats when it starts getting too hot :)

    September 12, 2009
  7. ariel joseph maghuyop #

    how bout if we dont have an ice cream maker? how will i remove or reduce ice crystals?

    September 13, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      I haven’t make ice cream without a machine since I was about ten and at that age I didn’t have the patience to do it properly. Once your ice cream base is ready you pour it into a freezer container instead of the machine and every 30 minutes to check it and whisk it. David Lebovitz has a good recipe at this link and he is a master at ice cream making. Good luck! http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2007/07/making_ice_crea_1.html

      September 13, 2009
  8. Mmmm…I’ve been wanting to make “ice cream” with yogurt and still haven’t gotten around to it. It sounds fabulous right now. Gorgeous photography…

    September 13, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

