Skip to content

Dairy Free Chocolate Ice Cream made with Rice Milk

Playing with new ingredients as well as a new lens!

rice-ice1

A friend has someone visiting who is on a dairy, wheat, soy and egg free diet so it was a bit of a challenge to make a sweet treat for her. She knew I had been making ice cream lately from yoghurt and asked if it would be possible to make ice cream from rice milk. I said I would test run a recipe and then pass it along if it was successful. Of course I passed on the first batch of rice milk ice cream too! Since I couldn’t make a custard base with eggs I opted for a Gelato style ice cream, thickened with corn flour. The rice milk, which I had never tasted before, was quite sweet so there is very little sugar added to the recipe and the richness of the 70% chocolate over shadows the rice milk flavour.

It was a great success by everyone, not just the young lady on the special diet.

I have also been playing practising with my new macro lens and trying out new techniques, some are working well but other things I took for granted with a wider lens are proving frustrating but I suppose it is just a case of practise make perfect.

Ingredients

  • 500ml rice milk
  • 50g sugar
  • 100g 70% cocoa chocolate, chopped
  • 3 tsp corn flour/ corn starch

Method

  1. Mix 50ml of rice milk and corn flour together till smooth.
  2. Heat the rest of rice milk in a pan.
  3. Just before the milk boils remove from the heat and stir in the corn flour.
  4. Once thoroughly mixed return pan to the heat and cook on a low heat, stirring constantly for a few minutes until milk thickens. It is important to cook out the flavour of the corn flour otherwise the gelato will taste floury.
  5. Remove from the heat and add the sugar.
  6. Pour into a bowl and add the chocolate and stir continuously until the chocolate has melted.
  7. Chill in fridge overnight or until completely cold.
  8. Transfer the mix into the ice cream maker and process according to manufacturers instructions.
  9. Keeps well for a week (if you can keep it that long!) but after that I find it forms too many ice crystals in a domestic freezer.
22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks delicious! Bravo on a successful dairy free ice cream!

    October 12, 2009
  2. Bev #

    What a fantastic idea – I am going to try this one out for Guy.

    October 14, 2009
  3. Wow that looks so creamy for how low in fat it is!

    October 15, 2009
  4. Wonderful, I love chocolate!

    October 15, 2009
  5. Liz #

    Yes, a macro lens makes all the difference, doesn’t it. It’s a slippery slope though.. I find my appetite for new shiny tech toys far outstrips my budget.

    October 25, 2009
  6. Bev #

    going to have to try this out…migt tray a choc mint or orange version

    February 27, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Mint choc or choc orange would be perfect, my favourite choc combinations!

      February 28, 2011
  7. Marianne #

    Thanks for posting this. My daughter has developed an allergy to milk.( She’s also allergic to peanuts, so ice cream was her special treat.) I can’t wait see how this turns out, the base tastes amazing.

    March 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      god luck, i hope you all enjoy it and you will be able to adapt it to other flavours. The chocolate does add body to it though so you will have to leave that part but maybe some stewed plums, berries or orange zest

      March 7, 2011
  8. Katie #

    I just made this recipe and it turned out a little grainy. The after taste is very good, but I was definitely expecting a more creamy texture. What could I have done wrong? I followed the recipe exactly. I used ghirardelli chocolate and rice dream rice milk.

    April 16, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Katie, it could be a few things. Was it grainy as soon as you took it out of the ice cream maker or was it smooth and cream at that point? Just trying to work out if it is because of freeze, thaw, freeze or whether the choc has over heated and one grainy. Good explanation here :http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview/id/303022.html

      April 21, 2011
      • Katie #

        It was grainy as soon as it came out of the ice cream maker. I’m guessing it could have been the chocolate was over heated, because it couldn’t have been anything else. Next time I will melt the chocolate before adding it to the milk mixture. We’ll see if that makes a difference. Thanks for your response!

        April 26, 2011
  9. Lauren #

    my sister has an allergy to corn, can I leave the corn starch out or replace it with something else?

    July 24, 2012
  10. Lauren #

    p.s. my sister can have eggs, I was wondering if there was any good chocolate ice cream recipes with eggs… thanks for your help!

    July 24, 2012
  11. Kimberly #

    Hi,
    Thank you for the recipe. I can’t have chocolate so I was wondering how much vanilla you would suggest adding.
    Thank you!!!

    April 4, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      I would suggest the seeds of one vanilla bean. Although the chocolate does affect the texture so you may need more cornflour to thicken it.

      April 9, 2013
  12. Dee #

    My son has the 8 most common allergies and finding different things that will still make him feel like he’s not being left out is great. Since I’m also eatting healthier, this looks like a great recipe for the both of us. However I don’t have a ice cream maker, is there another option to making this homemade delight?

    June 16, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      the traditional way would be to pour the ice cream into a tray and put it into the freezer. Then every 30 mins or so whisk it up to get volume into it and the back into the freezer. Continue this method until set. It could be a lot more solid than it would with an ice cream maker. Or how about pouring the ice cream into ice pop/lolly mould and having it that way? Good luck. Alli

      June 22, 2013
  13. winter chef #

    My husband is on dialysis and we only use rice milk, so I can’t wait to make this. However, he also should not have chocolate. Any suggestions for other flavors? I make many interesting sorbets, but have never tried ice cream for him. AND is corn flour the same as corn starch? Never heard of corn flour.

    November 11, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi, yes cornflour is the same as corn starch! The chocolate does make it thicken a bit, I have a coconut gelato recipe he might like though, is coconut milk OK? I post it on my blog but in the meantime here it is
      Ingredients
      200ml coconut milk
      300ml cream
      1/2 cup sugar
      2 tbsp cornflour
      2 drops vanilla extract
      1 cup shredded or desiccated coconut
      Method
      Preheat Oven to 180C
      Roast the coconut on an oven tray for 5 minutes
      Mix together 1/2 cup of milk and corn flour together till smooth.
      Heat rest of milk in a pan.
      Just before the milk boils remove from the heat and stir in the corn flour, vanilla extract and sugar.
      Return to the heat and cook for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.
      Remove from heat and chill until completely cold.
      Whisk the cream to soft peak consistency.
      Mix together the thickened milk, whipped cream and toasted coconut.
      Transfer the mix into ice cream maker and process according to manufacture’s instructions. 

      November 11, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Hello summer..oh and hello ice cream and sorbet! | Allergy-Friendly Food Ideas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,368 other followers

