Skip to content

Gingerbread House with the Daring Bakers

Happy Holidays Everyone!

The December 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was brought to you by Anna of Very Small Anna and Y of Lemonpi. They chose to challenge Daring Bakers’ everywhere to bake and assemble a gingerbread house from scratch. They chose recipes from Good Housekeeping and from The Great Scandinavian Baking Book as the challenge recipes.

There were two recipes chosen by Anna and Y  but since I was running last minute with the challenge and I had read a lot on the Bakers Challenge forums about how many people had problems with the two recipes I decided to use my own recipe which I know never fails, doesn’t shrink or go out of shape and therefore is perfect for a gingerbread house, I hope it still counts? This is my recipe here on a previous post of gingerbread hearts. I would definitely recommend this recipe for taste and reliability.

I used the royal icing to fix my house together not the sugar glue and it work perfectly and was very quick to make. The log affect on the side of the house is from chocolate finger biscuits.

You can find Anna’s recipe and gingerbread house here as well as some great detailed instructions and Y’s recipe and house here, both looking very cute indeed.

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love your beautiful gingerbread log cabin–so clean and simple. You did a great job.

    December 27, 2009
  2. Yum – the chocolate biscuits would be great! They certainly make the house look like a lovely cabin.

    December 27, 2009
  3. I like the chic, rustic elegance of your Gingerbread House! Great job! :D

    December 27, 2009
  4. Y #

    What a cute house! The chocolate biscuits are such a great idea – I’m having one of those “why didn’t I think of that!” moments, looking at them now :)

    December 27, 2009
  5. I love the simplicity – its just perfect! What an adorable house =D.

    December 27, 2009
  6. genius idea to use chocolate biscuits as logs, they look so real! and how’d you get the windows so to be so perfectly square? great job on the challenge!

    December 28, 2009
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for all the comments on my gingerbread house! The windows are made from fondant icing which made it easy to cut perfect squares from :o)

      December 28, 2009
  7. Your house looks perfect. Very simple yet elegant.
    Happy Holidays and Best Wishes for a very Happy New Year!

    December 28, 2009
  8. I love the simplicity of the house–very cute shape and I love the window cut-outs! :)

    December 28, 2009
  9. tia #

    i love yours! it’s classy.

    December 28, 2009
  10. Simple and sweet, very nice.

    December 28, 2009
  11. I love the color of your gingerbread, I’ll have to check your recipe out for the next time I try one of these.

    December 28, 2009
  12. Love the simplicity of your gingerbread house. Chocolate biscuits!! Lovely and yummy!

    December 28, 2009
  13. Shirley #

    Very clever :)
    Love the choccie biccies as logs!!!
    B will want to make one from scratch now!
    Shes taking after her aunty….absolutely loving food technology in school!

    December 28, 2009
  14. just lovely! i wish i could make it by myself!
    have a sweet day!
    justyna

    December 29, 2009
  15. I love the snow! Such a quaint house:)

    December 29, 2009
  16. OMG, your house is gorgeous and the fact that your gingerbread recipe dosn’t warp or spread, intrigues me enough to want to try it and make a small house to test. I forgot to trim my pieces right from the oven with the template, so I had a lot of chiseling and adjusting to do..lol That said ..NO IDEA what I’m going to do with 4lbs left of chocorocks! Any ideas???? Have a Happy New Year, hon!!

    December 30, 2009
  17. Your house is adorable! I love the log cabin look.

    December 31, 2009

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,289 other followers

