Skip to content

Nectarine & Lemon Shortcake

We were having friends round for a BBQ Sunday just past, one who is vegan, and I promised to make a dessert, what was I thinking “no eggs”, “no butter” what was I going to do? I do not have much experience with vegan desserts as i tend to load everything up with butter and eggs so I had to get my thinking cap on.   I had a bowl of juicy nectarines in my kitchen which I thought would go well baked on a tart base and then I decided that perhaps a shortcake would be nicer. I would normally use butter to make my shortcake and wasn’t convinced that it would have that ‘melt in the mouth’ sensation with a butter substitute so I decided to add ground almonds to the mix for a little more luxury.

It turned out really well, the shortcake was incredibly short and I didn’t even notice that there was no butter used! It also turned out that nectarines were the favourite fruit of our friend so it was a big hit all round, so much so there was non left for me to add to my lunch box the next day.

Ingredients – shortcake

  • 200g SR Flour
  • 100g ground almonds
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 200g butter/Vegan substitute (Olivani)
  • zest of one lemon
  • 6 Nectarines, pitted & quartered
  • 1 tbsp cinnmon
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven on bake (not fan bake) to 160 degrees centigrade and grease & flour a 24-26cm loose bottom flan tin.
  2. Sift flour into bowl.
  3. Add butter and almond and rub into flour.
  4. Add sugar, lemon zest and kneed ingredients together to form a dough.Do not over kneed otherwise dough will become tough and biscuits will have a pastry texture instead of a shortbread texture.
  5. Press dough into base of flan tin to fit evenly throughout the bottom and up the sides slightly.
  6. Slice the nectarine quarters into 2-3 more wedges and place them onto the shortcake base, fanning them around the outside, then the inner circle.
  7. Mix the brown sugar & cinnamon together and sprinkle over the nectarines.
  8. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until the base is cooked through to the texture of a biscuit.
  9. Allow to cool in the tin.
  10. Serve with yoghurt, ice cream or cream.
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I cannot believe there is no butter in it!! t looks awesome!!
    is vegetable shortening vegan?

    January 20, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      I have used a product called Olivani here in NZ, it is made purely from olive oil. You have to check you vegetable spreads, shortenings as most of them contain milk products and therefore aren’t suitable for vegan.

      January 21, 2010
  2. This definitely does not look like anyone was left unsatisfied. it looks delicious. I am going to keep this in the filing cabinet in my mind for future vegan guests!

    January 20, 2010
  3. You have a wonderful blog and some amazing pictures! I love the idea of this short cake!

    January 21, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

