Skip to content

Vegan Onion Bhajis

I made onion bhajis last week as part of our vegan BBQ. Traditionally Bhajis are deep fried and are a lot thicker than shown in the picture but given the mixture is the same as a fritter I thought I could probably make them on the BBQ in that style. I did a trial run early on in the day since I had never made fritters without egg to bind them but yet again I was surprised by this vegan cuisine, they worked incredibly well without egg. I added a lot more spices to mine than I have seen in other recipes or tasted at restaurants in the past and I personally think they taste better that way.

Even my meat eating P loved them and it is just as well I had made plenty or there would not have been enough to feed my vegan friend. This is such an easy dish to make and the batter can be prepared ahead of cooking or you cold even cook them early on in the day and heat them up again later in the oven. I have topped my bhajis with my tomato & cumin relish from a previous post.

Ingredients

  • 100g gram flour
  • 2 onions, finely sliced
  • 1 tsp fresh coriander, chopped
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cardamon seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • pinch salt
  • 100ml water
  • oil for frying

Method

  1. Place all the cumin, cardamon, mustard & coriander seeds into a frying pan and ‘dry’ cook them for 2 minutes.
  2. Remove the spices from the pan and grind them into a powder.
  3. Mix all the ingredients except the water together, then add the water gradually until you have a thick batter (you may not need to use it all).
  4. In a non stick frying pan pour 2 tablespoons of oil.
  5. Place a spoonful of the bhaji mixture in a pan and flatten slightly, repeat to create more bhajis.
  6. Fry on a medium heat in batches for 2 minutes each side or until golden brown. Keep the first batch of bhajis warm in the oven until the final batch is cooked.
  7. Serve with relish or chutney.
4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great tiny bite of flavour.. they would be good with all kinds of things on them too!!!

    January 23, 2010
  2. jo #

    Another great finger food recipe. Great pictures as well.

    January 24, 2010
  3. Hi, I didn’t know how to contact you so I left a comment here. I like to invite you to http://www.tasteandshare.com, a food & wine social network, where you can share photos, videos and a link to your own blog.

    January 24, 2010
  4. Drool! Onion bhajis! I’ve spent many an evening devouring these, washed down with ice cold lagers.

    January 26, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,270 other followers

