Skip to content

Lavender Martini and Co Posting with Curious Kai

The blogging world is an interesting place, you become friends with people you have never met before, you find you have something in common whether it is the style of cooking, where you live or you just seem to hit it off. I was please to bump into Nigel from Curious Kai last year, he is one of the few Kiwi Blogs I have found and follow regularly. Nigel has a great Blog that explores New Zealand’s unique foods and he has a fabulous way of writing about his adventures, some of which seem to find him discovering antique cooking implements which I am often jealous about his finds.

After I had made my lavender syrup Nigel and I got talking about the types of cocktails we could make from it and he experimented  and came up with a Lavender Martini. We decided that we should co-post our recipe and share it with you as well as introducing you all to each others Blogs. Below is my recipe which is based on one from Kingsley Amis and I hope you pop across to visit Nigel and his recipe as well as browsing his Blog, I know you will enjoy his stories.

The lavender martini is quite different to a regular martini due to the sweet syrup, P who is a bit of a martini buff preferred it with less syrup added but I am not such a big fan of martini and really enjoyed the additional sweetness to this drink. I think P is please he has finally got me to drink martinis, I wonder what other syrups I can experiment with!

Ingredients

  • 6 parts gin
  • 1/2 part vermouth
  • ice cubes
  • Handful fresh lavender flower buds
  • Lavender Syrup
  • Ice Cubes

Method

  1. Chill Martini glasses prior to making the cocktails
  2. Fill cocktail shaker with ice
  3. Pour in gin & vermouth
  4. Shake or stir vigorously depending if you are a James Bond fan or not!
  5. Add 3 teaspoons of lavender syrup to each martini glass
  6. Pour martini over the lavender syrup and float a few fresh flower buds in the glass.
  7. Serve
12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Gorgeous photo! I need to start channeling more of Annie Liebovitz & less of Sean Connery, I’m thinking.

    January 26, 2010
  2. kaori #

    What a gorgeous photo. We’re thinking to use your Lavender syrup for Lavender Vodka Jelly and maybe also replace Maple syrup to that for crepes.Beautiful~~~

    January 27, 2010
  3. kaori #

    Happy New Year~ finally get online & catching up your new recipes…Heaps to read through~

    January 27, 2010
  4. Lovely to see another NZ blog. I found you on Nigel’s post. I’m not a fan of the lavender flavour but the martini looks great.

    January 31, 2010
  5. marcie smith #

    did I miss something….lavender syrup? how to?

    August 7, 2012
  6. marcie smith #

    as a follow up… since I have no lavender syrup, I just made a cosmo and have floated some lavender from the bush outside…. pretty good!!

    August 7, 2012
  7. Link to the lavender syrup recipe for us newbies?

    August 7, 2012
  8. strick #

    Can u substitute vodka for the gin,?

    August 7, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      most certainly! We often do in our martini’s

      August 9, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lavender Martini « Me..as I am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,380 other followers

