Skip to content

Panettone – The Bread Bakers Apprentice

I have set myself a challenge to work through Peter Reinhart’s Bread Bakers Apprentice book and make a new loaf each week. I am not working through the book very methodically as both P and I have completely different preferences, P’s requests so far have been the French bread, Sour Dough and Grissini but I jump straight to the sweet section and pick out the Panettone which I made last weekend. I know it is meant to be a celebration cake but I thought I should practice and perfect it before Easter or Christmas came…..it sounded logic to me! I have always loved Panettone, with it’s aromatic fruit flavours and light airy texture, it is so light I can easily eat a whole loaf myself, and have done on many occasions.

Each time I make a bread from the BBA book I am always surprised how well they turn out, granted they have a lot more steps than any other bread I have made before using this book but taking the time for the dough to ferment definitely creates a superior loaf. Peter Reinhart’s recipe for Panettone takes two days to make and starts with a sour dough barm, which in itself takes four days to create. Lucky for me I have my sour dough barm still brewing in the fridge.

I have not added the recipe here as I do not have sufficient patience to write a two page recipe down which means I could miss something critical out  and if you are serious about cultivating a sour dough I would seriously recommend buying the Bread Bakers Apprentice book which offers lots of technical tips also.

I did quite well with this Panettone, the two loaves actually lasted me over a week and I even gave some away!

Here are some other stories and photos from other people who have made the Panettone.

bewitchingkitchen

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the link to my post…

    Nice to “meet” you!

    February 10, 2010
  2. Ah! gorgeous!

    February 10, 2010
  3. Ooh, good idea! I love panettone, and yours looks wonderful. I want some with that sweet cream sauce that it comes with sometimes.

    February 10, 2010
  4. Rosie #

    You made panettone!! I’m in awe.
    Rosie of BooksAndBakes

    February 11, 2010
  5. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    The photo is simply beautiful. Having read this post reminds me that I should be getting that book…. Anyway, your panettone turned out scrumptious!!

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

    February 12, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Kris, it is a great book if you love to make and eat bread and worth every penny spent on it I feel. Let me know if you get it and what you are going to bake first!

      February 16, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,368 other followers

