Skip to content

Nectarine & Cardamon Ice Cream

The stonefruit is in abundance in NZ, the weather is beautiful and surf is just fine! It brings to mind the song lyrics “summertime and the living is easy, fish are jumping and the cotton is high”. With a few shoop…shoop..doobie doos in there for good measure, I always was better at the musical accompaniments than the singing. I think it has something to do with growing up in brass band country where it is common practice to pretend you are playing a trumpet with you hands it time to the melody. I blame you for that one Pop!

This is an easy recipe made from a base of yoghurt and whipped cream and as I leave you with it I am about to put my feet up in the hammock in the shade with another scoop! Apologies to my family who are freezing their behinds off in the UK but I do keep telling them to come out here.

  • 200ml cream, whipped
  • 200ml Greek yoghurt
  • 200g nectarines (or peaches), quartered and stoned
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • seeds from 2 cardamom pod

Method

  1. Place the honey, nectarines and cardamon in a pan and cook gently for 20 minutes. You want all the fruit to be soft so you can blend it into a puree. Allow to cool
  2. Once cooled add to the yoghurt.
  3. Add whipped cream to the yoghurt and gently fold together retaining as much air and volume as possible.
  4. Pour into an ice cream maker as per manufacturer’s instructions.
  5. If you do not have an ice cream maker place into a container as it is and freeze, the whipped cream will keep the texture light but not a creamy as with an ice cream maker. But it still taste good! For this method remove from the freeze 10 minutes before serving to allow the mixture to soften slightly.
11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks delicious!

    February 15, 2010
  2. Sounds delicious… I don’t have an ice cream machine, so it was nice to have feedback on how the recipe would work without one

    I wish it was Spring already…. :-)

    February 15, 2010
  3. I love cardamom, but I had never had it with stone fruit, usually I pair them with lemon verbena, but it makes total sense. I am so jealous that you have stone fruit, here we are just waking up and spring is just around the corner in the Bay Area. I can’t wait to make the first strawberry rhubarb dessert, just few more weeks…

    Thanks for the recipe, and the intriguing method.

    February 15, 2010
  4. Sounds like a nice recipe. I’ve never tasted Cardamom ice cream before so I’ll have to give it a try. Great Picture

    February 15, 2010
  5. I’m discovering more Cardamom fans as I go along. Sounds like it would go really well with peaches and nectarines. Have to say, it’s hard to imagine warm sunshine at the moment.

    February 15, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, you have some great chocolate pairings on your website!

      February 21, 2010
  6. Oh! I love the presentation.. the fruit and the cream together! :)

    February 15, 2010
  7. Yummy! I love stone fruit with cardamom. You’re making me even more impatient for summer.

    February 16, 2010
  8. So jealous that you are in stone fruit season while we have yet another snow day…. beautiful recipe and photo… I can’t wait till they are in season here!

    February 16, 2010
  9. Heaven help me! I think I just might die. Not only does the thought of this nectarine ice cream make me want melt but the thought of sitting outside in the summer air while enjoying it practically knocks me over. Thanks for sharing a little taste of summer. Now I have to go and put on another sweater.. sigh..

    February 16, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Just think everyone, when you are moving into summer we will be on the way into winter and you can make me jealous with all your recipes! We don’t get snow in Auckland though, it never gets cold enough and I do miss it but I only have to travel a few hours to get a fix of it :o)

      February 16, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

