Skip to content

Chocolate Nemesis Cake with Cardamon & Orange Blossom Yoghurt

The original recipe for Chocolate Nemesis Cake comes from The River Cafe but this is a tweaked version from Rococo’s ‘Real Chocolate’ cookbook.

We have a curry club which we still continue through the summer months, not that it matters too much in NZ as the evenings always cool quite a bit. We all take a dish along and try something new each month, this is Ps domain, he always makes the curry but this month the group requested a dessert at the last minute and I knew the girls love chocolate and it’s something my kitchen is never without. So I had a quick look in my Rococo book which made me realise I had never made this cake before so I thought I would give it a go but decided to add orange blosson water to the cake mix and accompany it with a and Indian dessert flavoured yoghurt, or something similar to a lassi anyway.

The cake is unbelieveably rich and the tangy yoghurt really complemented it. Hmmm, I think I may have a small obsession with cardamon and orange blossom at the moment!

Ingredients

  • 100g icing sugar
  • 250g chocolate (70%), chopped
  • 150g butter, softened
  • 4 free range eggs
  • 1 tsp cider
  • 1 tbsp orange blossom water

Method

  1. Preheat oven 180 degrees C and grease & line a 20cm round cake tin.
  2. Put 2/3 of the sugar in a heavy based pan with 5 tablespoons water and heat gently until the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Remove from the heat and add the chocolate, stir until melted and then add the butter. This should be a thick glossy mixture.
  4. Whisk the egg whites and the remaining sugar together and add the salt & vinegar until it reaches soft peak meringue consistency.
  5. Beat the egg yoks into the chocolate mixture.
  6. Add the meringue mixture bit by bit to the chocolate mixture, gently folding each addition.
  7. Add the orange blossom half way through adding the meringue mixture.
  8. Pour the mixture into the prepared cake tin.
  9. Boil a large kettle of water and pour into a large baking tray large enough to hold the cake tin. Put cake tin into baking tray, the water should come up the side of the cake tin.
  10. Bake for 30 minutes or until set. It should be firm and an inserted scewer would come out clean.
16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Von #

    The cake looks really chocolatey! I have a slight chocolate cravcing now!
    What’s orange blossom?

    February 21, 2010
  2. that is one stunning cake!!! And as above… how does Orange blossom look?

    February 21, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      I should have said orange blossom water , sorry. It comes in a bottle like rose water but is from orange blossom instead. It is very strong in flavour so you need very little. I have to buy it in a specialty store, likely in your Middle Eastern or Indian produce stores as it is used in both cuisines.

      February 21, 2010
  3. arugulove #

    I’m not usually a huge chocolate fan, but I think I’d really like this combo. I’m bookmarking this for a future dinner party.

    February 22, 2010
  4. Looks beautiful :)

    February 22, 2010
  5. Hi, first time here, I don’t think that there are many NZ blogs around so I am very happy to have found you. And you are my neighbor! I live in Waiatarua (on the border with Oratia).
    I love Muriwai, although we mostly go to Karekare, which is closer for us.

    Very good blog, bravo, I will be back often, I promise!

    ciao
    Alessandra

    February 23, 2010
  6. YUM-this cake looks so moist and decadent!

    February 25, 2010
  7. Wow, that looks like a mighty tasty and deliciously chocolately cake!

    February 25, 2010
  8. Kate #

    Looks delicious! Would really enjoy making it over the w’end. Could u pls tell me if u mean pure icing sugar (no added cornstarch) and also, is the NZ tblsp the same measure as the Aussie tblsp i.e. 20mls. Thanks :)

    February 26, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Icing sugar is with no added starch, some call it confectioners sugar. And yes, the Aussie tablespoon is the same measure in size. I hope you get to make the cale and enjoy it!

      February 27, 2010
  9. Kate #

    Thanks for your reply and for sharing your terrific recipe- it was delicious! Found the flavour was even better the next day too. Am going to experiment with expresso coffee instead of orange blossom water and serve with some home-made Kahlua icecream. Thanks again :)

    April 1, 2010
  10. I love the fudgy look in this cake. Has a very brownie texture, I think!

    April 8, 2010
  11. anna-michele #

    hi, was searching for a recipe for friends birthday cake, having just packed up a 20 foot trailer to be sent from Nerth east england to NZ with much of worldy goods. ( Waiheke)
    How odd to discover this site with a NE lass in my old back yard!
    Its baking now- the nemesis, and am planning a luncheon for a few friends including asparagus roills and bacon and egg pie. Fingers crossed for s cloudless spring sky for at least an hour or so , where we can enjoy the gorgeous florals of the season in abundance in my garden right now.
    Lovely to com e across the site, and great recipe reading too.
    ps my first blog comment ever.Hope its not toooo adddictive….

    April 29, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Good luck with your lunch and I hope the weather is good to you! Thank you for leaving a comment, does that mean you are moving back to NZ? How canny you should send a comment when we have just booked ourselves to go to Waiheke next week, I know it isn’t far away but we only get there once a year. Lunch at Stonyridge, I’m so looking forward to it! Keep in touch, Alli

      April 30, 2010
  12. That is very interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for looking for more of your great post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks

    November 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Blog · Chocolate Nemesis Cake with Cardamon & Orange Blossom Yoghurt

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,740 other followers

