Skip to content

Easter Hot Cross Buns

This weeks cooking class was bread making and since Easter is just around the corner I thought hot cross buns would be appropriate. In addition to the hot cross buns we also made a Sicilian style Focaccia bread which is more like a poolish dough and was taught to me by the lovely ladies at Al Dente and I will post that also in the next few days.

I love making bread dough by hand, I just couldn’t imagine using a bread maker or a dough mixer, there is something very satisfying and personal about creating bread that you don’t get when using machines to produce it. Or is it maybe I am a gluten for punishment, watching the clock tick away the minutes I have been kneading? But with a class group the ten minutes for kneading just flew by as we all chatted and shared our latest news.

I used Peter Reinharts cinnamon bun dough for this recipe which I made my Chelsea Buns from and just added the fruit and spice into the mixture.

Ingredients

These can be easily adapted to suit vegan’s by using a vegan margarine (I use Olivani) and water instead of milk.

  • 100g castor sugar
  • 80g butter
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 450g high grade flour
  • 2 tsp instant yeast
  • 2 tsp mixed spice
  • 1 cup warm milk (approx)
  • 100g fruit (mixed, sultanas or raisins)
  • Cross Paste (2 tbsp flour & 4 tbsp water)
  • Sugar glaze (2 tbsp sugar & 1 tbsp water heated gently to dissolve)

Method

  • Heat oven to 180C and line a baking sheet with parchment.
  • Beat sugar and butter together.
  • Add egg and vanilla extract.
  • Add the flour, spice, yeast, fruit, salt and milk and bring together to form a tacky but not wet bread like dough. Adjust with additional flour or milk if not right.
  • Knead dough for 10 minutes and then allow to rest in a warm place till double in size. Spray with oil and cover bowl with a plastic bag.
  • Divide the dough into 9-12 pieces and shape into buns.
  • Place dough buns ½ inch apart so when they swell they will join. Cover again with a plastic bag and prove until double in size.
  • Meanwhile, for the topping, mix the plain flour & water to a smooth paste that you can pipe.
  • Spoon the paste mixture into a piping bag and pipe a cross on each bun.
  • Bake for 15-25 minutes depending on size of bun, or until pale golden-brown.
  • As soon as you remove the buns from the oven, brush them with the hot sugar glaze, or warmed syrup, then set aside to cool on a wire rack.
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. sasa #

    Hot cross buns, hot cross buns, one a penny, two a penny hot cross buns!
    My favourite thing about Easter, yum.

    March 28, 2010
    • my favorite rhyme!! the hot cross buns look amazing!

      March 31, 2010
  2. Sharmila #

    oh wow, these are so appealing. It was my favourite nursery rhyme. I’ve never had one, which tells me that I definitely need to put your recipe on my list of things to try out. Thanks for it!

    March 28, 2010
  3. These look just perfect. I am not a big fan of kneading but these look worth the effort

    March 29, 2010
  4. Looks delicious!

    March 30, 2010
  5. hmmm these buns are so beautiful, it makes me want to eat them for breakfast :)

    April 6, 2010
  6. stacy #

    i keep serching for a hot cross bun resipe but it either has a bread mechine or the ingredents are metric units

    March 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,740 other followers

