Skip to content

Feijoa Daquiri

Last weekend I had a girlfriend visiting from New Plymouth, we were rekindling our days when we used to flat together in London so that entailed retail therapy, lots of yummy food and and a few drinkies.We thought it would be rude not to create a cocktail to celebrate the event, the result of which was the feijoa cocktail since they are in season at the moment and both of us love feijoas. P wouldn’t touch it, he doesn’t like feijoas, they are certainly a fruit you love or hate. The fabulous aromatic feijoa flavour was really captured in the drink.

Ingredients – makes 4

  • 6 feijoas (scooped out flesh only)
  • two hand-fulls of ice cubes
  • 9 parts Bacardi White Rum
  • 3 parts Rose’s Lime Cordial
  1. Put all ingredients into a blender and mix until smooth
  2. Serve in a cocktail glass
  3. Enjoy!
12 Comments Post a comment
  1. jo #

    Now this looks like a really interesting cocktail drink.

    June 5, 2010
  2. Sounds good! Definitely will try it. Thanks

    June 5, 2010
  3. sasa #

    Not like feijoas!? Glad you had a lovely visit and wish I had some feijoas too…

    June 6, 2010
  4. anna-michele #

    Wahhh! makes me soooo homesick, all the feijoa and tamarillo recipes. Occasionally in Britan I can buy tamarillos from South AfricA at a pound plus a piece.( and masses of guilt producing airlmiles) I treat them with great respect, poach in raspberry and cranberry tea and consume with a vanilla yoghurt.
    I usally return from NZ to the uk with a suitace laden with as many feijoa products as possible, especially that well known NZ feijoa flavoured vodka! !

    June 8, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Anna, Yes feijoas are quite unique and not seen in many countries, I had never eaten one till I moved to NZ. But look on the bright side, you have access to all those lovely European cheeses that I miss at affordable prices :o)

      June 9, 2010
  5. I love daiquiris, but depending on where you drink, they tend to tip towards being overly sweet, rather than maintaining a good balance. How did this taste? Feijoas have such a magnificent fragrance, I can see this working very well.

    June 15, 2010
  6. Hi peasepudding. I am married to a Geordie and we first looked at your site because of the name. By the way I tasted fejioa vodka a few years ago and it reminded me of Deep Heat! I sincerely hope the fruit tastes better… Looking forward to reading more of your posts. Reena

    June 16, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      They are an unusual taste but not that bad! Look forward to chatting soon.

      June 17, 2010
  7. This is perhaps the most unique cocktail I’ve seen in ages, by virtue of the fact that I’ve never ever heard of fejioa! I’ve tweeted this recipe (twitter: reformedcynic), as I think it sounds wonderful! Now to find this rare fruit in Boston, MA, USA..

    August 1, 2010
  8. jordan #

    Hey sorry I know this may seem random but to the producer of this blog/post/whatever, I am currently completing a magazine article on Feijoas in N.Z and was wondering if I could use the main picture that is displayed at the top of this page of the Feijoas in the Daquiri glass? Thank you!!!

    Btw I looooove Feijoas!!! :)

    August 23, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. feijoa daiquiri « feijoa feijoa
  2. When Autumn gives you Feijoas make Feijoa Gin Ice Lollies! « Pease Pudding

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

