Skip to content

Chocolate Almond Toffee

Homemade toffees always make me think of winter, Halloween and Bonfire night but my brain gets a little confused now living on the other side of the world. As it gets colder I still associate the cold with November to January not June to August, I have even been known to hum Christmas carols at the beginning of June because of the weather. Our sub conscious mind is a funny thing isn’t it, maybe that is why a mid winter Christmas is celebrated here in NZ at this time of year.

So even though we have no burning guy fork or bonfire, spooks or witches I have my toffee, well I did have, by the time I put the blog together a few days later it was gone, not even a sticky crumb left in the box! Hmmm, what shall I make next? Coconut ice? Cinder toffee, I’m already getting excited thinking about them. What’s your favourite toffee and do you have a link to a blog?

Ingredients

  • 7 tablespoons salted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 30g slivered almonds
  • 100g chocolate (I used 70% but you can use milk also)

Method

  1. Generously butter a 22cm tin or dish or double the recipe and use a cookie sheet.
  2. Place butter, sugar, and water in a heavy pan over  a low heat until the sugar has dissolved .
  3. Bring to a bubbling boil, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, about 10 minutes.
  4. Remove spoon from pan, and cook to a very brittle stage (300 degrees to 310 degrees F on a candy thermometer). Or, make a cold water test: candy will separate into hard, brittle threads when dropped in cold water.
  5. Pour into prepared dish, should be spread to 1/4-inch thickness.
  6. Sprinkle with half the slivered almonds.
  7. Cool slightly, top with chocolate and spread as it melts.
  8. Cool completely and break into pieces. Store in an airtight container.
7 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is my downfall. If I made this, I’d end up eating the entire batch. But hey, you only live once, right? ;)

    June 10, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hence I have noted a small portion for people like you or me who will eat the whole batch ;o)

      June 11, 2010
  2. I made this at Christmas and had to give it away – I couldn’t be trusted around it. It is SO good. Great photo!

    June 10, 2010
  3. Looks delicious!

    June 10, 2010
  4. I LOVE homemade toffee! I haven’t made any in so long…thanks for the inspiration!

    June 11, 2010
  5. oh my, this toffee looks simply divine!

    June 14, 2010

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Kitchen Coffee Grinders

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,281 other followers

