Skip to content

Grapefruit Curd Recipe

The grapefruit are falling off the trees here in New Zealand in abundance at present, a friend handed me a whole shopping bag full of them from their garden and I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat them all before they started to ruin. As much as I love grapefruit there is only so many I can eat in one day and I haven’t managed to convince P yet to create a new cocktail with them but I am hoping to bump into Nigel at Curious Kai this weekend so maybe he will have some ideas!

Lemon curd has always been a favourite of mine and I didn’t see why grapefruit curd wouldn’t be just as delicious…and it was. So for everyone out there who are trying to consume many grapefruit perhaps this will offer a bit of variety.

Ingredients

  • 200ml juice of grapefruit (approx 4)
  • 200g castor sugar
  • 100g butter, melted
  • 4 eggs

Method

  1. Whisk together the grapefruit juice, sugar, melted butter and eggs until they are completely combined.
  2. Pour the liquid into a heavy bottom pan which distributes heat well.
  3. Cook on a low heat and stir continuously while cooking. Do not boil the liquid otherwise you will end up with grapefruit scrambled eggs! Do not leave the liquid while cooking and always stir, preventing it from sticking to the base of the pan.
  4. Once the liquid thickens to the consistency of thick custard, pour into sterilised jars and secure with a lid.
  5. Use the curd for tarts, fillings or a spread.
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve seen curd after curd recipe and this is probably one of the most beautiful I’ve seen! I really need to get into trying this out!

    September 2, 2010
  2. Bev #

    I will be making this tomorrow.

    September 6, 2010
  3. Alli! I wasn’t rostered on, so i missed you! What did you order? Your curd’s just like that in our key lime tart, with the only difference being (apart from using limes) is that we whisk in butter towards the end. Your grapefruit curd sounds delicious! As for cocktails, grapefruit goes well with Campari, and off the top of my head, ginger & honey. I’m going to have to give this one some thought… Thanks for sharing your recipe :)

    September 6, 2010
  4. Hayley #

    I made this last night (quite brave, considering my previous attempts at curd making have ended in disaster). It is simply delicious. Thank you!

    September 27, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Hayley, I am please it worked out for you! I just love curds and if you have passion fruit you can use the same quantities and it makes a wonderful curd. Thanks for stopping by. Alli

      September 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,377 other followers

