Skip to content

Strawberry Verrine

I have a feeling I will be posting a lot of strawberry recipes over the next few months, P works with a strawberry growing cooperative so berries do come my way often and in return I create new recipes for their newsletter. I seem to be able to make, bake and eat them all faster than I can post them on my Blog, no surprises there though when it comes to dessert! I also have a baked strawberry doughnut recipe on its was too, which I was surprised how authentic it tasted without the saturated fat ;o)

Ingredients – Strawberry Mousse

  • 1/2 tablespoon gelatin
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup strawberries, chopped small
  • 2 tablespoons castor sugar
  • 3/4 cup whipping cream

Ingredients – Strawberry Jelly

  • 1/2 teaspoon powdered gelatin (I use agar agar)
  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • 1 cup strawberries, chopped small
  • zest & juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tablespoons castor sugar


Method – Strawberry Mousse:

  1. Mix the gelatin and 2 tbsp water in a small container and put aside.
  2. Puree the strawberries in a food processor until smooth.
  3. Place the puree, sugar and gelatin in small saucepan set over medium and bring to the boil. When using agar agar you need to cook it through for a minute or two and it will thicken.
  4. Remove from the heat and allow to cool. In the meantime whip the cream to soft peak consistency.
  5. Once the strawberry mixture starts to cool and set, gently fold the cream into the mixture.
  6. Divide among the glasses and refrigerate until set.

Method – Strawberry Jelly

  1. Mix the gelatin and 2 tbsp water in a small container and put aside.
  2. Puree the strawberries in a food processor until smooth.
  3. Place the puree, sugar and gelatin in small saucepan set over medium and bring to the boil. When using agar agar you need to cook it through for a minute or two and it will thicken.
  4. Remove from the heat and allow to cool enough to pour over the mousse without it melting the mousse.
  5. Top jelly with strawberries and or any other berries
  6. Note: If not using Agar Agar please follow the instructions for setting ratio of gelatin to fruit. Agar Agar can be bought in organic stores, Pacific Harvest produce a local NZ product. I personally prefer to use Agar Agar, even though it is quite expensive, but it has no flavour or smell whereas the pork derivative ones do.
14 Comments Post a comment
  1. These are so pretty! Aren’t you lucky to have so many strawberries coming in: jam, ice-cream, tarts…so summery.

    November 9, 2010
  2. Oh, how I love strawberries! You’re so lucky to get all those strawberries! This verrine looks delicious and it’s so adorably small and cute!

    November 9, 2010
  3. Bev #

    I have never heard of the term “verrine” before, but looking at the recipe I just know my girls are going to love this one!

    November 11, 2010
  4. Kaori #

    Simply delicious just by reading and viewing your blog!

    November 11, 2010
  5. I love, love, love verrines – so elegant, with contrasts in textures and flavours – perfect for food lovers! Your strawberry recipes looks great!

    November 20, 2010
  6. Alessandra #

    I followed your recipe and my verrines seem to be coming along nicely, but I have one question – are you sure about the 1/2 teaspoon of gelatin for the jelly? It’s almost been 4 hours and my jelly is still a little runny. Just wondering if perhaps that should read “tablespoon”? The mousse is lovely – it tastes wonderful and it set very quickly :)

    November 27, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Alessandra, my Agar powder is always 1/2 teaspoon to 1 cup of liquid, I will run another batch tonight to see. What gelatin are you using and what does their ratio say? If it hasn’t set once cold it isn’t going to. I’ll get back to you asap.

      November 28, 2010
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Alessandra, I have run another batch of the jelly with half a teaspoon agar powder and it set quite firm as soon as it cooled. I used the Lotus brand which is Japanese. Perhaps your brand needs to use more? What does the ratio say?

      November 28, 2010
  7. Alessandra #

    Thanks for the quick reply :) I’m using McKenzie’s… and I think you’re right – perhaps I needed to use more. I’m going to try a tablespoon next time. Thanks also for the recipe – my family loved the verrines.

    November 30, 2010
  8. I made your strawberry mousse and it was JUST what I was looking for. Thank you so much :D Thank you for posting the recipe :D

    happy cooking!

    June 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’m glad you liked it, its a nice easy mousse that can be adapted to all fruit.

      June 12, 2011
  9. Hi! This is my first time here and i love how your verrine looks! :) the mousse tastes fab and i couldnt stop myself from licking my spoon! :P i used gelatin too and the mousse set alright but the jelly is a tad runny. As you were discussing with Alessandra, i think my brand (an Indian brand) needs a little more as well i guess! but it still tastes great! :) Thanks so much for posting!

    December 12, 2011
  10. Oooh, think I need to be giving this a try. The photo looks gorgeous!

    November 29, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      nice to see the old recipes still get a look in!

      November 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,378 other followers

