Skip to content

Christmas Gingerbread Cupcakes

It’s the Sunday before Christmas and I have just realised that I haven’t done any Christmas baking yet, having been in Sydney for work last week the time seems to have crept up on me. I have a long list of things I planned to make; Stollen, Panforte, mince pies, nougat….arrghh, so it looks like I have my work cut out for me over the next few days and that’s not taking into consideration the savoury dishes for a dinner party on the 24th with friends, Christmas lunch on the 25th with family and picnic lunch Boxing day at the races. That’s what Christmas is about though isn’t it, time with friends and family sharing great food together so it will all be worth the effort?

So when I had a cupcake class on Sunday I thought the least I could do was decorate them with a Christmas theme and because I haven’t made gingerbread either yet I made gingerbread cupcakes instead. They are made with ginger powder and crystalised ginger in the sponge with a gingerbread crumb on top.

Christmas Gingerbread Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 125g butter
  • 125g sugar
  • 150g SR flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 50-70g crystalised ginger, finely sliced
  • 2 tsp ginger powder
  • 6 gingerbread biscuits, crumbled (optional)

Method

  1. Place 12 cup cake cases into a muffin tray, this helps hold the shape of the cup cake.
  2. Put butter & sugar in a bowl and beat with an electric whisk or good old fashioned wooded spoon until light and fluffy.
  3. Add one egg at a time and whisk in between both additions.
  4. Sift flour into mixture and fold gently through with a metal spoon so not to loose all the air that has been beaten in.
  5. Spoon mixture into cases a little more than 2/3 full.
  6. Bake in oven for 25 minutes until golden and risen.
  7. Allow to cool slightly before removing from muffin tin.

Ingredients – cream cheese topping

  • 3 tbsp icing sugar
  • 250g Cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tsp ginger powder

Method

  1. Beat all ingredients together to a smooth consistency.
  2. Fill piping bag and the fun starts!
  3. Pipe swirls onto the top of cooled cupcakes.
  4. Add a few gingerbread crumbs to decorate the top of the cupcakes. My holly and gingerbread man are made from fondant icing.
8 Comments Post a comment
  1. These look so pretty Alli, and ginger cupcakes sound delicious. Heading in to my baking phase thinking I may have to pop out to a cupcake decorating lesson next year!

    December 20, 2010
  2. huntfortheverybest #

    pretty! they look yummy!

    December 20, 2010
  3. Kat #

    Wow Alli, these look wonderful! I love ginger, maybe my sister and I should bake these for Boxing Day nibbles…

    December 21, 2010
  4. Those look so cute! I have a christmas cake I really need to ice in the next day or so.

    December 21, 2010
  5. the cupcake looks great. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

    December 25, 2010
  6. jo #

    Looks really yummy and gingerbread cupcakes are so right for Xmas.

    December 26, 2010
  7. So cute, and these look delicious! I especially love that little mini gingerbread man! Yum. :)

    December 26, 2010
  8. Such sweet cupcakes & I adore your decorations too!

    December 27, 2010

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,368 other followers

