Skip to content

Fennel, Cucumber, Anchovy & Caper Salad

We have a French market in Auckland on a Saturday and Sunday and if I lived a little closer I am sure I would spend most weekends there particularly for breakfast. I make a bee line always for the macarons but unfortunately this weekend the lady who normally sells them was not there so I had to make do with a homemade chocolate eclair instead…poor me.

Apart from cakes you can also buy French cheese, wine, bread and many other delicious French delicacies at the market. There are stores selling homemade pies, homemade ravioli, preserves and many, many other things and there is always local fruit and veg. I had my eye on the young fennel bulbs and popped a few into a paper bag to add to my already laden arms. It was the perfect start to a Saturday, a great breakfast, a great catch up with a friend and a tummy full of yummy food.

Here’s the salad I made with the fennel which goes perfect with fish.

Ingredients – 4 persons

  • 4 fennel bulbs
  • 1 cucumber
  • large handful parsley, chopped
  • 1tbsp capers
  • 6 anchovy fillets, I used white, chopped
  • juice of one lemon
  • 6tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • salt & pepper

    Method

  • Slice the fennel in half and slice thinly on a mandolin or with a sharp knife. You want it to be wafer thin.
  • Peel the cucumber then slice it down the middle and remove the seeds. Slice the cucumber as thin as possible also.
  • Finely chop half of the capers and add to a large bowl with the lemon juice, oil, parsley, anchovies, garlic and whole capers. Mix together for the salad dressing.
  • Add the fennel and cucumber to the bowl and mix the dressing through it.
  • Chill in the fridge until ready to serve.
  • 10 Comments Post a comment
    1. i love a market and i can just imagine how delicious this salad would taste oh and i love the earlier plum ice blocks too .. double yum ..

      January 19, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Thanks. We have a news market starting locally too where I live and I am going on Saturday for the first time, can’t wait!

        January 19, 2011
    2. Alli, I didn’t realise you were GormetGannet on Twitter. I remember the market at La Gigale.

      January 19, 2011
    3. That looks so fresh and delish, although I would have to skip the anchovies, how I wish I liked them! Cant believe P didnt go mad for the Gazpacho, Mr PK would be ecstatic if I made that, it is one of his absolute favs, will send hiom your way the next time you whip some up:)

      January 19, 2011
    4. Market is one of my fav places, but unfortunately never really stayed closed to one. And if there is a French market, I for one would make sure I go there every weekend… so now we have something in common :-)

      Refreshing salad with special ingredients!

      January 21, 2011
    5. Delicious! I love fennel…and anchovies. I never understood why people are so scared of using them in their cooking. Yum.

      January 21, 2011
    6. This salad looks both fresh and healthy. Fennel is always a good choice. Beutiful picture, really beautiful.

      January 22, 2011
    7. This looks so tasty!

      January 25, 2011
    8. Wow what an interesting salad, will give this a shot at my kitchen

      Raymund
      http://angsarap.wordpress.com

      February 2, 2011

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. Study of the Agurkesalat « jakesrecipes: studies in intuitive cooking

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 4,270 other followers

