Skip to content

Green Gazpacho Soup with Goats Cheese & Walnuts

The good thing about making New Years food resolutions in New Zealand is that they are easier to keep living in the southern hemisphere. I can’t even begin to imagine turning over a new (lettuce) leaf and eating salads and soup in a UK mid winter but here it has been so warm this year one craves fresh and light dishes.

I first tasted gazpacho in Spain when I was 17 and thought it was dreadful eating cold soup but that was before I developed a passion for food. Now it is probably one of my favourite, it is so fresh and light for those really hot days. I couldn’t resist adding my favourite goats cheese to it and a few walnuts for some crunch and of course some crusty bread for dipping!

This recipe is Really easy to make by whizzing everything together in a food processor, pushing it through a colander and chilling it down.

I have also been fiddling with my new photo software on my iPad……jury’s out on the new format I chose but it good to experiment.

Ingredients

  • 2 cucumbers, sliced lengthways and de-seeded
  • 1 green pepper/capsicum, halved & de-seeded
  • 4 green tomatoes
  • 2 spring onions
  • 1clove garlic
  • 1 slice sour dough bread
  • 2 tbsp of white wine vinegar
  • 3tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper for seasoning
  • goats cheese & walnuts optional for garnish

    Method

  • Soak the bead with the vinegar and olive oil.
  • Rough chop the pepper, cucumber, tomatoes, garlic and spring onion and place in a food processor or blender.
  • Add the bread also to the food processor/blender and blend until smooth.
  • season with a little salt and pepper and the strain all the ingredients through a colander or course sift. You want texture to come through but to leave any bigger bits behind.
  • depending on how thick the soup is you can add some water or ice cubes if you want to chill it down quickly.
  • chill in fridge for several hours for the flavours to improve then serve with goats cheese and walnuts.
  • 4 Comments Post a comment
    1. I love gazpacho but I’ve never made it green, yum! Bookmarking for next summer…

      January 22, 2011
    2. I didn’t love gazpacho the first time I tried it, but I sure do now! However, it’s -25 here today, so I think I’ll stick to hot soup for another few months. Lucky you to have warm weather and lovely fresh produce.
      🙂

      January 23, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Oh you poor thing, I don’t think I have every experienced -25 degree, -5 maybe!

        January 25, 2011
    3. I’m so going to try this – reminds me a little of the Eastern European cold soups – lots of cucumber, goat’s yoghurt and walnuts – but perhaps when the weather starts to warm up. I know what you mean about the weather and NY resolutions. At this time of year, everyone wants macaroni cheese, baked potatoes with butter and cheese…

      February 5, 2011

    Leave a comment