Skip to content

Fennel, Cucumber, Seafood Salad

I’m having a fennel month and not because I have a glut in my garden either. I did have some that grew into five foot high triffids and I didn’t do anything with it so for my penance for not looking after and harvesting my fennel I have to buy it at $2.50 a bulb. Note to self, pay more attention to what’s growing in the garden next hear as it is likely that the fennel seeds have blown everywhere.

This is an Ottolenghi inspired salad, a book gifted to myself that arrived last week which I just adore and can honestly say every other page makes me swoon. After my previous post on fennel salad I just knew this would be to my taste also. We ate it as a light main in larger quantities than shown in the photo but this was all that was left for my photo shoot and I did have to sneak this bit away before it was all consumed. I’ll take that as a compliment?

Ingredients – 4 entree, 2 main

  • 2 fennel bulbs
  • 1 telegraph cucumber, halved down middle & sliced
  • 3 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • juice and zest of one lemon
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbsp dill, chopped
  • 2 tbsp flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • 2 tbsp coriander, chopped
  • 1 mild chili, chopped
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 8-12 prawns depending on size
  • 300g baby squid, cleaned
  • 1 tbsp sumac spice
  • salt & pepper
  • pomegranate seed to garnish

    Method

  • Trim base and tops of fennel then slice width ways as thinly as possible.
  • In a bowl mix the fennel, cucumber, chili, onion, lemon juice, garlic, dill, parsley and 2 tbsp of olive oil. Combine all the ingredients.
  • Place a heavy cast iron frying pan over a high heat and allow the pan to get pipping hot.
  • Mix the prawns and squid with the remaining oil and add to the pan in small batches. Cook them one minute on each side or until just cooked.
  • Transfer the squid to a chopping board and slice into rings. Add both prawns and squid to the salad and toss through.
  • Add the coriander and sumac, season with salt and pepper, toss through again and serve immediately.
  • You could also use the salad without the fish as a side dish to accompany ofncutsbof fish.
  • 9 Comments Post a comment
    1. How refreshing that looks Allison. Yum

      February 2, 2011
    2. My father has gone crazy for pomegranate seeds

      February 3, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Me too, have another pomegranate lurking in the fridge waiting to be turned into something yummy!

        February 4, 2011
    3. mairi29 #

      Yum! Love fennel, love prawns, love chilli, love coriander. What a pretty light and bright salad. And my fennel is neglected too, but self seeding everywhere.

      February 3, 2011
    4. I am swooning over this salad, but mostly want to tell you that your photos are just gorgeous. Your comment over at Dianne J’s site led me here and just so you know: I’d take your simple and lovely all-natural seafood salad over an overstyled, faux food photo any day.

      February 3, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        Thanks for your compliments, it makes all the effort and frustration learning to photograph food worthwhile.

        February 4, 2011
    5. Oh, seeing this it gives me an inspiration for Gawai festive season…. :D

      March 1, 2012

    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

    1. Tweets that mention Fennel, Cucumber, Seafood Salad « Pease Pudding -- Topsy.com
    2. 7 Seafood Salad Recipes

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 4,376 other followers

