Skip to content

Chocolate Chestnut Sago Pudding

20110515-075719.jpg

I have spent the last week weening down the contents of my fridge and freezer, we are off to Europe for a month and I didn’t want our house sitters to contend with a fridge full of half of this and bits of that and nowhere to put their own produce.

I had a small amount chestnuts left that I really didn’t want to throw away and I felt inspired to make a pudding with them, I pondered between hot or cold and then decided to create one that could be eaten both ways. With the cold weather taking a grip this week in New Zealand it really calls for a hot pudding but packing my suitcase (well actually dumping a bunch of clothes in a pile as and I will probably pack the night before I leave) with summer clothes for France I was in a summer pudding mood and the weather here was not going to stop it.

I served the pudding set and chilled from the fridge but for those I am leaving behind in chilly New Zealand, that’s a little below the belt I admit, you can easily serve it warm straight from being cooked. The sago is an easy milk pudding mixed with a chestnut puree then topped with a simple chocolate ganache. You can buy chestnut puree at specialty food stores or I have given a method of how to make your own.

So I will leave you with this recipe and chat to you from the other side of the world! A bientot, Bis Dann, Dha weles diwettha!

Ingredients – 4 portions
50g chestnut puree or 80g roasted peeled chestnuts
1/2 cup sago
1 cup milk
1.5 cups single cream
1 heaped tbsp Manuka honey

50g dark chocolate (I use our local Whittakers 72% Dark Ghana)
100ml single cream

Method
If making your own puree, put the chestnuts in a small pan with a tablespoon of sugar and just cover with water. Place over a low heat and simmer until chestnuts are soft, approx 15 minutes. They will also absorb some of the water. Blend to smooth paste and pass through a sieve.

Place the sago, Manuka honey, milk and 1.5 cups of cream in a pan over a low heat.
Simmer gently, stirring regularly so the sago doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.
After approx 8 minutes the sago will start to go opaque at the edges and the pudding will thicken.
To test the sago is cooked, take a few of the sago spheres out of the pan and check they are al dente like you would with pasta. If they are no longer hard but hold their shape it is cooked. They will have an opaque out rim and white centre. The consistency should be like a thick custard, if too think add a little more milk.
Add the chestnut puree and stir through.
Pour into glasses or small bowls.

For the Ganache
Heat the cream to almost boiling, either in microwave or pan.
Add the chopped chocolate to the cream and stir till smooth and silky.
Pour ganache over each individual sago pudding.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Elegant Alli … I love the way you served these! What a great idea. Have a wonderful vacation. We’re headed to Sydney via HKG for a vacation in June.

    May 17, 2011
  2. Looks lovely. I have never thought of using chocolate with sago. Clever idea!

    May 25, 2011
  3. Great looking pudding Alli, and I don’t even like sago (result of force feeding in childhood!!). But I’m pretty sure I would like this, especially with that chocolate ganache on top.

    Hope you’re having a great time :-)

    Sue xo

    May 25, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I was the same Sue, we always had to eat sago and tapioca and I hated the texture, I love it now though and since I have a big bag of it will be experimenting a bit more

      May 29, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate sago | Cartographix

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,369 other followers

