Skip to content

Wakame Savoury Shortbread Biscuits

20110709-053423.jpg

Finally a whole weekend to potter in the kitchen, practice a little photography and put my feet up and blog. The weather has been pretty wild out at Muriwai with stormy seas and white water as far as the eye can see. The turbulent see got me thinking about some of the seaweed products that I have in the pantry from a local NZ company Pacific Harvest. I was in a baking mood and wanted to create something different, as well as having yummy cheeses and dips fridge, so I decided to make some savory biscuits to accompany the cheese. I used Wakame in its dried form which gave the shortbread biscuits a salty seaweed crunch to them which were perfect on their own or with a dip, as picture with a lime humous.

I used my ever faithful shortbread mix from my great grans cookbook which is why the ingredients are in ounces rather than grams, omitting the sugar and adding the Wakame.

Ingredients – makes 12-14

  • 4oz butter
  • 6oz plain flour
  • 2 tbsp dried Wakame fronds
  • salt and pepper to season

    Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C.
  • Place all ingredients, except salt and pepper, in a food processor and blitz till the dough starts coming together.
  • Remove from food processor and finally knead together by hand.
  • Roll into a sausage shape and wrap with plastic wrap. Once wrapped in plastic food wrap it is easier to roll into the cylinder shape.
  • Rest in the fridge till chilled.
  • Remove wrapping and slice disc of approx 1/2 inch thick.
  • Place on a non stick baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown( bit longer than sweet shortbread).
  • Season with salt and cracked pepper as soon as the come out of the oven.
  • 3 Comments Post a comment
    1. Savoury biscuits are something I enjoy but never think to bake. I love wakame (sometimes I eat the dried stuff as-is, as a salty snack) so I’m sure these would be a hit in my house. I wonder how they’d go with sesame seeds, too…

      July 11, 2011
    2. Nice idea, I often have wakame in the cupboard, usually just make soups or salad, never though of adding it to baking :-).

      Thank you for sharing

      Ciao
      A.

      July 11, 2011
    3. I really must get around to some seaweed experimentation, something I have never used. Loving the sound of these biscuits. :)

      July 13, 2011

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 4,265 other followers

