Skip to content

Roasted Garlic & Broad Bean Soup & a Facelift

20110731-090234.jpg

Perhaps you all got a bit excited about the facelift part of the title and I am probably at the age where you start looking at yourself in the mirror and pulling the wrinkles back wondering whether gravity is getting stronger these days. So I have treated myself to a facelift, one less painful and cheaper in the form of a Blog site update that I have been promising myself for a year now. There’s till some work I need to do on it but I’m happy with the results so far, thanks to hubby’s patience trawling through all the templates with me.

Another soup recipe I know but I just can’t help myself in the winter, they are so warming and relatively quick to make from just about anything in the pantry. This is a simple soup made of broad beans, stock, milk, lemon zest and roasted garlic, nothing more apart from the garnish of paprika and olive oil. If you don’t have broad beans you can also use haricot beans.

Ingredients
600g tinned broad beans
20 cloves of roasted garlic
2 cups vegetable stock
1-2 cups milk
Zest of 1/2 lemon
Salt & pepper to season
Sweet Paprika & a good quality olive oil for serving

Method
Place the broad beans, roasted garlic and vegetable stock in a large pan over medium heat.
Bring to the boil and then simmer for 20 minutes.
Blend the soup to a puree then add the milk and lemon zest.
Add the milk to thin down to your preferred texture and heat through.
Season with salt & pepper.
Serve with paprika and olive oil drizzles on top.

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love the new look and soups are quick but satisfying meals aren’t they?

    August 2, 2011
  2. Bev #

    Liking the recipe and loving the Facelift – it suits you!

    August 2, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      It’s the modern 40 something’s facelift :0)

      August 4, 2011
  3. This soup looks perfect for a really cold night when you only want to spend a minimal amount of time in the cold kitchen!

    August 2, 2011
  4. Love your new look :) This recipe looks so nice and creamy, will definitely be putting this on the list to try. Can I ask, do you peel your garlic before you roast it? Or leave it in bulbs to roast and peel later?

    August 3, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Good point, I will note that on my post. I always roast my garlic in the skin, just throw the whole bulbs in and peel them once cold.

      August 3, 2011
  5. Lovely soup, do you think that it would work without milk? I rather not mix beans and milk :-).

    The blog looks good :-)

    August 3, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Ale, yes you can skip the milk, it must be an English thing adding it :0) but I am certain the beans are creamy enough without it.

      August 4, 2011
  6. Looking good! See you tomorrow ^_^

    August 5, 2011
  7. Funny, I was going to make Ajoblanco (chilled garlic soup) today because of it’s cooling properties! So close and yet so far, have a great weekend!

    August 5, 2011
  8. Alli #

    20 CLOVES!! How fabulous!! This is on this weeks shopping list definitely! (Maybe on the weekend though, so I don’t huff that garlic breath all over everyone!)

    August 8, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,744 other followers

