Skip to content

Grapefruit, Cardamon & Orange Blossom Marmalade

20110805-050317.jpg

It’s citrus season here in NZ which means time for making marmalades, curds and preserving lemons. Pots and pans seem to have been bubbling across the kitchens of the Bloggersphere, Mairi at Toasthas been making lemon curd and Kristina at Plum Kitchen already has jars of marmalade on her shelf (I use Kristina’s method but different ingredients). My Sunday last week was spent doing both, a grapefruit, cardamon and orange blossom marmalade, I want a new flavour and a lemon curd I just had to make after a yummy breakfast I had at a local cafe last week which I will share with you once I have recreated it.

Ingredients for Grapefruit, Cardamon & Orange Blossom Marmalade
Makes approx 3 x 200ml jars
3 large grapefruit
3 cups water
300ml sugar
1tsp cardamom seeds
1tsp orange blossom water (optional)

Method
Wash the grapefruit, quarter then thinly slice each quarter and remove the pips.
Place the grapefruit, sugar and water in a heavy bottom stainless steel pan.
Slowly bring everything up to a boil so that the sugar dissolves then allow the marmalade to simmer on a low boil for about 1.5 hours.
Stir every ten minutes until the marmalade starts to thicken then test the consistency of the marmalade.
Do this by placing a plate in the freezer to chill it down then drop some marmalade onto the cold plate. If it set once chilled then it is ready, if not continue to boil until it does.
Add the cardamon seeds and orange blossom seeds at this point and then pour into sterilized jars.

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve never done much with marmalade except eat it on toast, and I’ve sometimes found some jarred marms can have a weird tangy-but-almost-plastic taste to me…What I’m trying to ask is (a) other than toast, what would you use marmalade for, and (b) is it just me who finds that tangy/plastic taste strange or is that the way it’s supposed to taste? Clearly I am a young player when it comes to the orange stuff!

    August 9, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Im not sure about the plastic taste but I never buy shop marmalade, maybe someone else who reads the comments might have thoughts on it too. I use my marmalade as a replacement for dried fruit in recipes, I have even put it in my brownies or chocolate cake which gives it yummy tang. I even use it in savory dishes that need a citrus sweet tang. Heres a link here for the brownies http://peasepudding.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/marmalade-walnut-brownies/

      August 9, 2011
    • It also make for an amazing vinaigrette just mixed with a little olive oil…over a winter salad delicious.

      August 13, 2011
  2. This sounds a fantastic recipe. At the moment our grapefruit are ripening way in advance of our lemons, so it is good to find a recipe for marmalade with just grapefruit in.

    August 9, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Most recipes would add more sugar but I tend to half mine in both marmalade and jam and I don’t usually mix my fruit but then I don’t have an over abundance of fruit to consume.

      August 10, 2011
  3. Wow that marmalade would be really good on my breakfast toast!

    August 10, 2011
  4. I am not a marmelade person but this I would eat!!! :-)

    August 10, 2011
  5. Shirley #

    Funnily enough!
    Having made tonnes of jam recently to get rid of plums/damsons/balcberries from the garden I was pondering making marmalade as a nice change!
    Have got this on my list of definites now as am certain it will be excellent! :)
    Wish I could send you a pot of my blackberry and apple….it is epic!

    August 10, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Maybe you can save me a jar for when we are next home or bring some across with you when you come at Christmas? No pressure but I did promise to teach B to surf this year.

      August 10, 2011
  6. Yum, I love marmalade! And we’re in sync again … I’ve got a post on lime marmalade for tomorrow, tee hee. I always start jars of marmalade with intentions of using it in all sorts of interesting recipes – but usually end up just eating it on toast! Great combo – wouldn’t have thought of adding cardamom, but sounds delicious!

    August 11, 2011
  7. Cardamom and orange blossom? Brilliant!

    August 11, 2011
  8. Thanks for the mention :) This sounds great & I am always on the look out for a variation on my usual grapefruit marmalade & what I would do for a few real seville oranges! Must pop down the street & check out the neighbours grapefruit tree, usually it is laden. As a huge fan of cardamom this one really appeals, thanks Alli.

    August 13, 2011
  9. The marmalade looks sweet. Looking forward to trying it out

    August 19, 2011
  10. Looks wonderful. I love marmalade! ^_^ where do you buy orange blossom water? I’ve never seen it here in Latvia. Is it available in regular supermarkets in NZ?

    August 20, 2011
  11. sandra #

    Hi there, doing my share of marmalades at the moment. love spices and wondered about the grapefruit&cardamom too – so that was a good thought apparently as there seem to be a few around on the internet. But what I’d like to know is the orange blossom thing… What, where to buy? Make your own? I live in NZ too so am curious where you’d send me. Looking forward to give this one a try. cheers

    September 9, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Sandra,

      In Auckland you can find orange blossom in ‘flash’ food stores like Nosh or Faro. I’ve also bought it at our local veg store run by Asians who have an international section. It’s a Middle Eastern ingredient, similar to rose water. Possible New World would have it. If your in Welly Moore Wilson for sure. Good luck finding some!

      September 10, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something
  2. Lady Lime Marmalade | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

