Skip to content

Apple Dumplings & Caramel Sauce

20110827-101315.jpg

I had planned hearty winter pies and puddings this weekend, a last dash of winter goodness before we start thinking about trimming down for summer beachwear (usually a lot of thinking and not doing). But the weather really turned on spring this week with warm glorious sunshine, it should have inspired me to make lighter fare but I was still on a roll with my winter waist expanding recipes like these apple dumplings. I had seen a spiced dumpling in the Gourmet Traveller this week and it made my mouth water, always a sure sign it will be on my menu soon in our house Such a simple dish but a very decadent one that reminds me of old fashioned puddings.

Ingredients
4-6 portions
200g brown sugar
1 vanilla bean
80g butter
380ml water
1 apple grated
240g self raising flour
1tbsp castor sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 egg
1/4 cup milk

Method
Place the water, brown sugar and 30g butter in a wide saucepan over a medium heat until the sugar has dissolved.
In a large bowl combine the castor sugar, flour, rest of the butter and spices.
Rub the butter into the flour to form fine crumbs.
Add the egg, grated apple and milk and bring dough together.
Roll golf ball size pieces of dough to form balls, makes 12-14.
Add to the syrup and simmer over a low heat with a lid covering the pan.
Cook for about 15 minutes, turning the dumplings occasionally. The dumplings should puff up and become fluffy.
Serve dumplings with syrup and vanilla ice cream.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks delicious and I love your little milk bottle!

    August 28, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Isn’t the milk bottle gorgeous, it’s an old Kiwi cream bottle, couldn’t resist buying it!

      August 28, 2011
  2. I am lovinnggg the sound of this, i mean it sounds truly delicious and i bet is one of those comforting smile-inducing pud’s :) Your photo is beautiful too, i dont know how you managed to make dumplings look pretty! Talented!

    August 28, 2011
  3. My mother used to make dumplings with caramel sauce and icecream but I totally forgot about it till seeing this … I can still remember the taste – delicious, perfect comfort food. Yum.

    Agree with the previous comment about the photo too – stunning shot. What lens do you use?

    August 28, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks for the generous words, it’s taken a few years to get to grips with photography as older posts will tell! I am using a Nikon 60mm Macro, bought it second hand. The big difference for me has been with the lighting kit (last two posts), offering even light. The kit is a Lowel Tota Pak

      August 28, 2011
  4. Those look so lovely! I just had dinner and I want them for desert now.

    August 29, 2011
  5. They look really yummy, I don’t want to think of beach wear now!

    August 29, 2011
  6. CC #

    Oh man! This looks like one of those desserts that just make you lazy. Like, all you wanna do is cuddle up with it in bed and spoon it lovingly into your mouth. Love apples..love caramel and I love your recipe. The good thing is, this recipe is at once a comfort food and can also be dressed up to be a classy dessert. Loving it! :)

    August 29, 2011
  7. Just wonderful and so warm looking. I can’t wait for fall.

    August 30, 2011
  8. We don’t get autumn here in Florida. I miss the fall leaves and crisp air signaling the change of the seasons. Dishes like this seem to beckon the seasons to change.
    Not here. Therefore we make dishes like this, close our eyes and stand in front of an open refrigerator, imaging the cold air is coming from a northern chill. ☺

    We live vicariously thought these types of dishes and this one is worth doing just that.
    Love the blog, found you via Sasha’s The Procrastobaker – very glad I did.

    August 30, 2011
  9. mairi29 #

    Just yum! I could dive in to that little bowl right about now!

    September 2, 2011
  10. It definitely getting more autumnal here, there was even a few clouds today! My thoughts are turning to squash stews and these apple dumplings. I love autumn, excited!!

    September 2, 2011
  11. A great recipe I can’t wait to try out. I love apples and cinnamon, and especially dumplings!

    I came up with a related recipe for Apple Dumplings in a cinnamon sauce. While different from your own, I think mine is a unique take on the dish. I’m new to the Food Blog scene and would love some feedback from a pro like you. Check out my recipe if have time.

    http://persnicketypanhandler.blogspot.com/2013/10/apple-dumpling-with-cinnamon-sauce.html

    January 4, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

