Skip to content

Cafe Latte Pots with Fig Panforte

20110904-063900.jpg

Plum Kitchen came over for dinner this weekend which meant our poor husbands waited a little longer for dinner while we played around with my new camera lighting setup styling and photographing dessert. It’s fun to work with someone else when styling and photographing, everyone looks at things differently and cameras produce quite different pictures even on the same settings. Everyone tales pics from different angles so it gives you some new focus rather than the regular setup. I think I might be in trouble though with Mr PK as Kristina was quite taken with the whole set up as we discussed the benefits of a total renovation of her house to include a cooking school and photo studio, gear and lighting! We’ll keep working on him Kristina!

Ingredients
500ml cream
2 shots espresso coffee
100g castor sugar
5 free-range eggs
Cocoa powder for dusting

Method
Preheat the oven to 160C
Pour the cream into a saucepan and bring to the boil then reduce the heat.
In a separate bowl, beat the sugar, eggs and coffee together.
Pour boiled cream over the egg mixture, whisking continuously.
Fill the pots or ramekins with the mixture, makes 5 pots or 6 large ramekins.
Place the pots/ramekins into a large roasting tray and pour in enough hot water to come halfway up their outsides.
Place the tray with ramekins onto the centre shelf of the oven and bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the custards are just set but still a bit wobbly in the middle.
Remove the ramekins from the water and set aside to cool to room temperature, then chill in the fridge until needed.
Dust with cocoa powder before serving.

The panforte recipe you can find here

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yum, I love these kinds of puddings, my dosage too is 100ml of cream for each egg, I would really enjoy this :-).

    Ciao
    A.

    September 4, 2011
  2. Great shot! I am still learning to take better food photos and there was one great tip I learned which is putting a blank white sheet at the back of the subject to reflect the light back. Its also good now as I don’t have to use our dining lights as sunshine stays a bit longer now and its good for me as I do take photos only at dinner after work.

    September 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Same for me too, that is why I finally bought the light kit. I sometimes use the white reflector but sometimes use black as I like to have shadow as well in some shots. Hope you can come to the conference, Bron is going to give us a photography workshop.

      September 4, 2011
  3. What a simply gorgeous dessert!

    September 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      perfect coffee fix too!

      September 4, 2011
  4. So stylish, I really must get my act together when it comes to props and a proper lighting set up. Right now I just use the window seat in our kitchen. Comes of having a husband hanging over my shoulder demanding his cake to eat!

    September 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’ve taken to making extras for photographing, the benefit is two fold, photograph in peace and second helpings of the food :o)

      September 4, 2011
  5. I’ll wear him down don’t you worry!:) Georgous pics as usual, and a delish meal, lucky us:) xx

    September 4, 2011
  6. Sukaina #

    Wow. what a gorgeous dessert. I love anythign with coffee in it! And that glass jar is adorable- where did you get it from?

    September 4, 2011
    • Jess #

      I agree! these glass jars are so cute :) I don’t know what they are called though so I can’t search.

      can’t go wrong with cafe latte~

      September 5, 2011
      • peasepudding #

        They are a strawberry jam preserving jar I think from Millys Kitchen in Auckland. Hope you can find some and thanks for your comment.

        September 5, 2011
  7. This looks beautiful, just what I’d like right now… I have such a soft spot for anything sweet and smooth and custardy. And coffee – delicious. Love the dusting of cocoa powder on top. Reminds me a bit of cappucino…

    September 5, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      You’re so right…cappucino pots would have been the perfect name for them!

      September 5, 2011
  8. magicofspice #

    What a beautiful treat!

    September 5, 2011
  9. Oh YUM, coffee AND custard! Would never have thought to do that, awesome idea. Could you turn this into a creme brulee easily or is the texture quite different?

    September 5, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes you can definitely turn it into a brulee, it’s the same method and quantities

      September 5, 2011
  10. They look gorgeous and I was going to ask about the jars too but you’ve already answered the question for me, thanks.

    September 6, 2011
  11. This is beautiful!! Perfect coffee fix :)

    September 6, 2011
  12. I don’t often have fig panforte on hand but boy does this look lovely. Figs are one of my favorite fall treats.

    September 6, 2011
  13. Stunning! The dessert looks delicious and I love the photo. and actually the panforte looks amazing!
    Looking forward to the photography workshop at the conference ;) you can give us some tips too!

    September 7, 2011
  14. I love the styling on this, your hemp (?) sack looks gorgeous, you use it a lot the texture and atmosphere it gives is perfect. I don’t know if I could style with a friend, I’m a bit of a bossy control freak but maybe it would be good for me!! I’m definitely going to try the fig panforte as I still have a mountain of figs in the freezer and this latte mousse sounds like the ideal thing to dunk it in. Thanks for your constant inspiration!!

    September 18, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      It’s a coffee sack I dug out of our work warehouse! It works a treat with the natural colours under artificial light. Inhale found strong texture works well for my photos but hubby said I am getting a bit repetitive and he is probably right as once you find something works it’s hard to change. I found s new fabric today though, in my wardrobe, it’s an old plaid wool skirt…tee…hee, could be my new favourite!

      September 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

