Skip to content

Green Tea Chocolate Baked Doughnuts

20110723-081904.jpg

Arfi from Homemade tweeted a picture of gluten free green tea doughnuts and I knew immediately that I had to make them. Her photographs are so beautiful, they give you that instant ‘yum, I want that now’ which I did. Being a busy lady she had only tweeted us a pic and not posted the recipe, but I felt happy to go ahead and create my own with regular doughnut dough, which I bake rather than fry, then fill them with dark chocolate. Of course since it was Arfi’s idea I didn’t feel like to post them till she had but I have sat on the post for a few months now so finally I decided they needed to be exposed to the world so here they are! Hope you don’t mind Arif? Do pop over to Arfi’s blog too, she hasn’t posted her gluten free version yet but maybe you can persuade her if you are gluten free and does have a lovely green tea pudding. if you are like using green tea.

Ingredients
750g plain flour
140g castor sugar
7g yeast (1 sachet)
330ml luke warm milk
2 tsp green tea powder
2 free range eggs
150g butter, melted
100g dark chocolate
1 cup of castor sugar for coating doughnuts
100g butter, melted for coating doughnuts

Method
Combine the flour, green tea powder and sugar in a bowl.
Add the yeast to the milk and put aside for a few minutes until it starts to ferment.
Then whisk the yeasty milk together with the eggs and melted butter.
Add to the flour mix and combine into a dough ball.
Knead the dough for 8-10 minutes then lightly oil the dough and place it back into the bowl and cover with plastic wrap.
Allow to prove for 1-1.5 hours or until more than double in size.
Preheat oven to 190C. Lightly flour 2 baking trays.
Knock the air out of the dough and turn onto a lightly floured surface.
Divide the dough into 12 or 16 depending on whether you want regular or smaller doughnuts.
Roll into balls, trying to keep a smooth top and sides and only a seem underneath.
Take the underside (less smooth side) and press your thumb into the dough and work it into a ‘well’ and place a square of chocolate in it.
Make sure there is enough dough to bring up over the chocolate so it doesn’t squeeze out while baking. Bring the dough over the chocolate and pinch it together. Place seam side down on prepared baking tray.
Give the doughnuts plenty space to double in size without touching each other.
Cover with glad wrap and stand in a warm place until they have risen double in size.
Bake for 10 minutes until golden.
Melt the extra butter in a bowl and the extra sugar in another bowl.
Once the doughnuts come out of the oven dip them while hot in the melted butter, then dip them into the sugar and serve hot.

16 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow this is something new, green tea doughnuts! I will love this.

    September 18, 2011
  2. I love the colors, and the filling!

    September 18, 2011
  3. Bev #

    Wonderful!

    September 18, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Maybe another recipe for the girls next months without the tea when I’m down visiting!

      September 19, 2011
  4. Yum, I also like that it is baked and not fried :-). There are a couple of sentences about jam in the recipe that I don’t understand though … (?).

    What will you enter for Sweet New Zealand?

    Ciao
    A.

    September 18, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Alessandra, I was a bit lazy and used my baked jam doughnut recipe from several months but adjusted to suit these green tea chocolate doughnuts. Didn’t do a good job of proof reading did I ;0) now I know why you are writing the books and not I.

      September 19, 2011
  5. I want one! It would be great if it were gluten free though. The color looks amazing.

    I just made macha ice cream for the first time, and it was delicious!

    September 18, 2011
  6. gorgeous, I too love that you bake them. Would love to see Arfi’s gluten-free version :-)

    September 19, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes we have to encourage Arfi to post hers for gluten intolerant people, should does some great recipes, I have my eye on her recent peanut butter biscuits.

      September 19, 2011
  7. What an original recipe! Those doughnuts must be exquisite. Amazing.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    September 19, 2011
  8. Love the unique combination. Can’t really imagine how it must taste like but I know it would be nothing less than exciting.

    September 19, 2011
  9. These look amazing! Will have to try them myself.

    September 20, 2011
  10. I would love to try making a version of these with red bean paste as a filling. Sort of reminds me of Japanese steamed buns – guess it’s the shape, and the green tea! Beautiful :)

    September 21, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I would be really interested to try that if you do, I remember eating red bean buns in Camden town many years ago but haven’t had them since would like to have them again.

      September 21, 2011
  11. There’s something you don’t see every day! They look terrific, and I love the recipe for a baked doughnut rather than fried. Do you just buy green tea powder from an asian supermarket? I’m not sure if I’ve seen it around…

    September 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Favourite… Ten | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,377 other followers

