Skip to content

Roast Vegetable, Pinenut, Goats Cheese Sandwich & Brunch at Zus & Zo

20110924-054354.jpg

The other week we stopped by Zus & Zo Cafe on Jervois Rd for brunch and I didn’t get far down their menu when I spotted this open sandwich and that was my choice taken care of. They serve this as ‘single’ or ‘double’ sandwich which I thought was rather cool since I prefer less bread and more filling so the one slice was perfect for me. Warm roasted vegetables served on toasted wholegrain (you can actually choose what bread you prefer) drizzled with honey and topped with goats cheese and pine nuts…delicious.

As I was recreating it at home I imagined it would be the perfect light lunch to share with Natalie over at Food Blog and the Dog in her garden in Andalucia, Spain. Although Natalie’s blog is fairly new to me I feel like I know her quite well through her recipes and writings about her surroundings. She always offers wonderful pictures of produce growing locally that she passes on her walks with Rufus, their dog. Bon appetit!

Ingredients
There are no particular quantities, you just need to have enough of each veg to cover however many sandwiches you are making.
Butternut pumpkin
Aubergine/Eggplant
Whole bulb of garlic
Marinated Sweet Pepper/Capsicum
Goat Feta or Soft Goat Cheese
Handful Pine Nuts
Manuka Honey or whatever your local honey is
Slices of multigrain bread

Method
Preheat oven to 180C
Slice the pumpkin and aubergine and lightly brush both sides with olive oil.
Place on baking tray with the whole bulb of garlic and roast for 15-20 minutes or until cooked and golden.
Toast your pine nuts for 5 minutes, keep an eye on them so they don’t burn.
Toast your bread slices and melt your honey if not the liquid variety.
Peel the roasted garlic and mash onto the toast.
Layer the vegetables any way you wish, top with a slice of goats cheese.
Drizzle with honey and sprinkle with pine nuts.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. Aww, thanks for thinking of me! I would definitely order this on a menu if I saw it and i have all the ingredients here, so thanks for sorting out lunch for me today, such a shame you’re not here to share it with me!! Is that the plaid skirt background? Love the colours, might have to have a rummage through my old clothes now to see what lurking there, great idea!! Have a nice weekend….

    September 24, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I hope you enjoy it! That is the plaid skirt ( an unfinished one I started) and I have just been to a fabric shop and bought some ‘off cuts’ as new props…I’m a bit of a magpie when it comes to material and now I have another excuse to collect it and not worry about ever finishing a garnet off.

      September 24, 2011
  2. I had to look for the bread. This doesn’t qualify as a sandwich to me because you need utensils, which I really, really wish I had right now. Looks downright amazing!

    September 24, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I know what you mean about the utensils, I got into a habit of ‘open’ sandwiches while living in Germany and much prefer them. I think that is why i don’t eat burgers as there is too much bread for me.

      September 24, 2011
  3. Shirley #

    That looks delicious!
    Perfect for the coming Autumnal feel we’re getting here on some days!

    September 24, 2011
  4. i love goats cheese especially with beetroot ……………mmmm

    September 24, 2011
  5. Good vegetarian open sandwich for me :-). In a way I agree with Rufus about calling it a sandwich and not eating it with fingers, but on the other hands people here have eggs on toast, or beans on toast, or spaghetti on toast (ahhhhhrg!!!! mostri!) and yet toasts too are usually eaten with fingers, while all of the above need utensils.

    September 24, 2011
  6. Wow that sandwich looks so satisfying, I love the fact that it does not have a lot of bread on it.

    September 25, 2011
  7. Yum!! Gosh I’ve only been away for a week but you’ve put up so many delicious posts!!!

    September 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Chargrilled Vegetable “Sandwich” with Feta, Basil and Pine Nuts « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,248 other followers

