Skip to content

Sunday Eggs with Babaganoush & Breakfast at Queenies Lunchroom

20111009-094845.jpg

Queenies Lunchroom seems to be my meeting place with fellow Auckland bloggers. We met there again a few weeks ago to discuss a few more ideas for the upcoming Food Bloggers Conference in November. I’m always pleased for an excuse to head into town and have breakfast, it’s a 45 minute drive for me so we only go if we have something planned or meet up with friends. Last time I was at Queenies I was torn by the menu choices, they offer dishes you wouldn’t see anywhere else like the Turkish eggs which are poached eggs served with babaghanoush, yoghurt, hot chilli butter and toast. That was my choice for the day.

The photo is my replica of the dish which I made for breakfast, I didn’t have the yoghurt in the fridge ( well I did but it was well past it’s best to eat fresh so I skipped this).

Below is Nigel Slater’s recipe for Babaganoush. Make a big batch and use it on sandwiches or as a dip as well as with your poached eggs. I used smacked paprika rather than grill the aubergine/egg plant which is the traditional way.

Ingredients
2-3 aubergine/egg plant
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tbsp tahini paste
Juice of a lemon
3 tbsp olive oil
Pinch of smoked paprika

Method
Grill the aubergines over hot coals or the flame of a gas hob till the skin has charred and the flesh is very soft. Or as I did bake them then add the smoked paprika.
Scrape the flesh from the charred skin and whisk with 2 crushed cloves of garlic.
Add the lemon juice, tahini paste and olive oil and paprika.
Season with salt and pepper.
Serve with poached eggs, toast or pita bread, a drizzle of chilli oil and a dollop of Greek yoghurt.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. mairi29 #

    Love those eggs at Queenies…my favourite breakfast. Actually have an aubergine lurking in the fridge…so some babaganoush may well be on the cards, your photos has made me crave some :)

    October 8, 2011
  2. peasepudding #

    I do like Babaganoush and the price of aubergine is coming down….roll on summer!

    October 8, 2011
  3. Never been to Queenies, will try sometimes :-). The Babaganoush sounds great, one of my favourite dips, and yes, soon there will be plenty of eggplants around! But I never seen Turkish eggs before, is that a Queenies’ invention?

    October 9, 2011
  4. I just made your roasted vegetable sandwich yesterday and it was beautiful! I chargrilled the aubergine slices and used those as the “bread”. This is definitely next on my list, baba ghanoush & a poached egg (on my!). I’m so jealous of all your great places to eat, it’s making me want a trip to NZ even more!!

    October 9, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’m glad you enjoyed it and you are welcome anytime to visit!

      October 10, 2011
  5. I love eggs and babaganoush, but have never paired the two. Brilliant!

    October 9, 2011
  6. Thats a great breakfast, I will certainly wake up early for that

    October 10, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Chargrilled Vegetable “Sandwich” with Feta, Basil and Pine Nuts « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian
  2. Tunisian Spiced Aubergine with a Soft Poached Egg « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,742 other followers

