Skip to content

Roasted Rhubarb & Quinoa Granola Crumble

20111021-075112.jpg

Rhubarb is a fruit that I don’t normally buy, not because I don’t like it but because if grows like a weed and you can usually harvest your own whether in your garden or along some verge side. Or maybe a generous neighbour keeps handing you a bunch because they have too much. I have planted rhubarb several times in our garden only to see it grow and then die off from wind or sea spray. I had given up, perhaps Muriwai is not the right conditions for it but then I discovered my neighbour has an abundance of it and assured me it should grow fine. As well as a large bunch of this dark red rhubarb she also gave me a rhubarb plant from her garden…a hardy variety apparently that should grow fine. I will give it one more try this year, perhaps my friends magic touch will bless my plant.

We had this dish as a dessert with ice cream but it made a really nice breakfast the next day, without the ice cream of course.

A tip to keep the rhubarb red and retain its shape is to bake it rather than simmer it in a pot.

Ingredients
500g Rhubarb
2tbsp honey
1cup of fruit juice

Method
Heat oven to 180C
Wash and cut the rhubarb into 2 inch pieces and lay on a baking tray
Whisk the honey and fruit juice together pour over rhubarb.
Bake for 20 mins.

Ingredients-Quinoa Granola
2 cups quinoa
200g pumpkin seeds
200g sunflower seeds
100g coconut thread
2tbsp sesame seeds
70g sliced almonds
1tbsp honey
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Method
Place the quinoa in a pan with 4 cups of water and simmer gently until the quinoa expands (approx 5 mins). Drain the quinoa completely.
Combine the quinoa and all the other ingredients together in a large bowl.
Spread onto a non stick baking tray or tray covered in baking paper.
Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.
Assemble by placing the rhubarb into individual pots or a large family size dish, top with the quinoa crumble and serve immediately. Or if you want to prepare in advance then reheat the whole dish like you would a conventional crumble it should take about 20 minutes to reheat from cold.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. That is perfect. I love rhubarb. When I lived in NZ we shifted a lot and i always dug up the rhubarb and took it with us. It had been given to me by my aunt whose father had bought it out from eastern europe about 50 before.. It grows in my friends garden now! lovely recipe.. c

    October 20, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      So maybe my friend is right about the ‘mature’ plants that have been weathered here, I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

      October 20, 2011
  2. This is something I would love to try since I don’t eat gluten any more. I bet it would work well with plums, which I hope to still find at the store.

    I have two rhubarb plants and they are finally big enough I can start harvesting the stems next spring.

    Thanks for the recipes and the beautiful photo!

    October 20, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Oooh yes plums would be yummy with this, perhaps a bit of cinnamon too.

      October 20, 2011
  3. “…without the ice cream of course.”

    Do you also proscribe pizza for breakfast? Or leftover sesame chicken? We keep such weird hours that I really have stopped figuring out what should be eaten when… except when visiting family who don’t understand that cold spaghetti and poached eggs make a great late supper!

    October 20, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I would eat any of the above for breakfast, particularly since I swim mornings so I am more than ready for something hearty to eat ;0)

      October 20, 2011
  4. Look how vibrant that rhubarb is!

    October 20, 2011
  5. What a beautiful dessert and unusual combination! A wonderful idea.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    October 21, 2011
  6. mairi29 #

    Love this :) A fan of rhubarb & very keen to try the quinoa crumble. That photo certainly makes me want to have it with ice cream!

    October 21, 2011
  7. I always wondered about keeping the colour in rhubarb so thanks for the tip. We had one rhubarb plant in Mt Albert, Auckland which did well. Struggling a bit here with new plants so have just replanted so here’s hoping.

    October 22, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Perhaps we can do a six monthly update on our plants performance!

      October 25, 2011
  8. Thanks for this recipe now I know what to do with the rhubarb on my backyard, this recipe looks so delicious!

    October 24, 2011
  9. I have never used rhubarb for a crumble recipe. Mostly just jam or preserved spread…This is something new and exciting! A nice breakfast recipe! Thanks for the post!

    October 25, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Rhubarb & Ginger Ice Cream | Pease Pudding

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

