Skip to content

Rhubarb & Ginger Ice Cream

20111025-190926.jpg

I have to confess, when making my Rhubarb quinoa crumble last week I already had this ice cream in mind and did a little time saving by roasting a double batch of rhubarb off. I’m all for short cuts particularly if time is limited and it means extra desserts on the table!

Ice cream is really easy to make if you have an ice cream maker. You can make you own custard base, cheat and buy a carton or I have even been know to use Greek yoghurt instead of the custard. Of course Gelato is even easier with its cornflour thickener with no chance of curdling the eggs if you are the impatient type….do I sound like I am speaking from experience?

I highly recommend roasting your rhubarb rather than poaching it as it helps retain the rich red colour. Of course it helps if you start off with a friends home grown crop of ruby red rhubarb which is not always the case with shop bought.

Ingredients
400ml custard (recipe HERE if making your own)
Or 400ml Greek yoghurt (will be tangier but still delicious)
400g Rhubarb (roasting instructions HERE)
100g crystalized/stem ginger, rough chopped

Method
Churn in your ice cream maker as per manufacturers instructions.
Pretty easy hey?
You can make it without a churner but I am not the patient type to keep taking it out of the freezer every 15 minutes and whisking until it is frozen.

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. My rhubarb is just coming out again, it will be a while before I have stalks, but I like the idea of an ice cream… although I am not a fan of crystalized ginger and would be tempted to skip that. Do you think it would still work?

    Ciao
    A.

    October 25, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      it would still be good without crystalised ginger. If it is just crystalised ginger you don’t like what about ginger biscuits? You could add some crushed ginger biscuits to it! Sorry, I’m just a big ginger fan as you can see.

      October 26, 2011
  2. That’s just wonderful! Makes me long for spring.

    October 25, 2011
  3. Bunny Eats Design #

    Gorgeous colour!

    October 26, 2011
  4. If it’s at all possible it looks even more amazing than your previous rhubarb post. I’ve just transplanted my rhubarb and am regularly feeding it (something I was a bit slack about before) so here’s hoping… In the meantime, I am going to have to buy some to see if I can replicate this gorgeous looking dish (I like the spoon too!).

    October 29, 2011
  5. Yum, I love rhubarb and ginger! Made some rhubarb & ginger jam earlier this year which I’m stil loving. I’m thinking about asking for an ice cream maker for Christmas… so will keep this recipe earmarked :)

    October 29, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I haven’t made rhubarb jam before, it I gets crop big enough I will have a go at that too.

      October 30, 2011
  6. What an interesting ice cream!! Loved your presentation.

    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

    November 2, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fudge! « Two Spoons
  2. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,378 other followers

