Skip to content

Lemon Coconut Slice for Guy – Gluten Dairy Free

20111102-205219.jpg

After spending the weekend with friends busily sampling all the yummy cakes on offer in New Plymouth cafes and bringing more back for dessert I felt a bit guilty that my friends hubby could not eat them since he is gluten dairy free. Having a background in French pastry, dairy gluten free is not very common to me but when I decided to make a nice lemon shortbread this week I thought I would create a recipe especially for Guy.

This slice starts as a shortbread made from almond meal, rice flour and desiccated coconut which is baked and then topped with a dairy free lemon custard mix and baked again. It’s texture is more like a soft biscuit with lemon topping soaking into the base.

To my buddies in New Plymouth, let me know if you get to make it and enjoy it! I’m going to experiment some more with this biscuit base, perhaps ginger and rhubarb or maybe chocolate?

Ingredients
2oz ground almond meal
2oz rice flour
2oz desiccated coconut
3oz dairy free butter substitute (I use Olivani)
2oz sugar
300ml fresh squeezed lemon juice plus zest
3 large eggs
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp coconut thread

Method
Preheat oven to 180C.
Line a 20cm cake tin with baking paper.
Combine the ground almond, rice flour, sugar and dairy free butter together to form a biscuit dough.
Press into lined cake tin.
Bake for 35 minutes until golden brown then remove from oven.
Whisk the 2 tbsp sugar, eggs and lemon juice together and pour over cooked biscuit base.
Sprinkle with coconut thread and bake for a further 20 minutes or until set on top and coconut is golden.
Remove from oven, slice then allow to cool before serving.

17 Comments Post a comment
  1. My mouth is actually watering! These sound so moist and tasty, I might have to try it with all my frozen figs. Would you just mix some pureed figs with the eggs and sugar to make the topping?

    November 2, 2011
  2. These do look great! I love lemon slices. I am gluten free as much as humanely possible but going dairy free would probably kill me. (not to mention make Daisy – milk cow – obsolete) Your poor friend missing out all the time. What an awesome solution. Give my love to New Plymouth as well.. c

    November 2, 2011
  3. that looks amazing and so wonderful that it is gluten free – I have to be careful now of too much gluten which is so BORING! If all gluten free recipes were like this I would be a happy girl! Looking forward to some more with this base.

    November 2, 2011
  4. I need to start baking more things gluten free, otherwise I won’t be able to eat anything I make. I have yet to try a tart or a shortbread recipe, this may be it! Thanks!

    November 2, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hi laura, I don’t seem to be able to access your blog, then realised that your web address is incorrect.

      November 2, 2011
  5. Lemon and coconut are always such a great pairing.

    November 2, 2011
  6. Gluten and dairy free! Good one! maybe next challenge is to make it vegan :-), I wonder if that would be possible… hungry now, ciao
    Alessandra

    November 3, 2011
  7. Wow those look so good, never had tried pairing lemon and coconut.

    November 3, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      If limes werent so expensive I would have used limes :0)

      November 4, 2011
  8. Classic! I’ve just been converting an old lemon slice recipe to gluten & dairy-free (great minds think alike on the coconut front!) Looks and sounds fab. Living gluten-free (and/or dairy-free) need not be deprivation. I could never go back, even now that we tolerate a little gluten.

    November 4, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I’m not mad on the gluten free flours because of the texture they give and almond meal is a little too expensive for everyday slices so I tried the desicated coconut and the combo worked well

      November 4, 2011
  9. Damsonlily #

    This looks so good! I have to be gluten and dairy-free, so am delighted to find such a wonderful recipe.
    Could you tell me what coconut thread is? I’m not sure we have this in the UK.

    November 7, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      from memory I think it may be called shredded coconut in the UK, it’s longer strands than dessicated. If you can’t get it dessicated is fine, its just the thread looks pretty on top of the slice.

      November 8, 2011
  10. Hey Foodies, Gourmet Gannet’s Dessert Slice recipe has been selected by Knapkins to be featured in a Recipe Guessing Game. Invite fans to play: http://knapkins.com/guess_games/538?source=blog

    November 11, 2011
  11. Bec #

    Just making this now….but is it meant to be 300ml of lemon juice?! It’s crazy runny!

    August 28, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Bec, it is runny but once baked the eggs will set the lemon. Thanks for stopping by. Alli

      September 10, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Coconut Slice – Gluten Dairy Free | News24

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

