Skip to content

Strawberry Jelly with Vanilla Panna Cotta

20111126-202154.jpg

I wanted to make a pretty pudding this weekend, something with strawberries hubby said since that’s his line of business. I’m not sure why he requested me to make something with them because between you and me, he rarely eats them even though it pays his salary. I on the other hand I cant wait for berry season and can eat them every day.

This jelly keeps them in their fresh state, they are at their best at the moment so best to eat them that way. In a few more weeks we will be preserving again but in the meantime we are eating our fill of berries.

I use Pacific Harvest agar since sit is a local NZ company and I prefer agar to animal derivative gelatins. For any other gelatin brand please use the liquid to gelatin ratio noted on the box for the correct amount.

Ingredients – makes 4
6 strawberries
1 cup red berry fruit juice (cranberry, strawberry, raspberry)
1tbsp sugar
1/2tsp agar powder, I use Pacific Harvest
1 cup single cream
1/2 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp agar powder
Seeds of 1/2 vanilla pod or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method
To make the jelly, cut the strawberries, I cubed mine to fit the ramekins I was using.
Add the to the ramekins
Combine 1/2 tsp agar, fruit juice and 1 tbsp sugar in a small saucepan. Over a medium heat bring to a simmer whilst stirring.
Pour the fruit liquid over the strawberries to half fill the ramekins.
Allow to cool.
To make the Panna Cotta, combine the 1/2 tsp agar, cream, vanilla bean seeds and 1/2 tsp sugar in a small saucepan.
Over a low heat bring the cream to a simmer, whilst stirring the liquid.
It will start to thicken slightly, remove from the heat.
The Panna Cotta needs to cool before pouring over the jelly. Agar will set as it comes to room temperature so you need to keep an eye on it. Stir every minute or so to distribute and even cooling and prevent a skin from forming.
Once the cream mixture is Luke warm pour over the jelly and place in the fridge until required.

And for a non food related photo I thought I would introduce you to my boy Diesel. I told him I wanted his pic for the blog and he just pulled tongues at me :0)

20111126-103537.jpg

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. What a great dessert. I wish it were berry season here.

    November 25, 2011
  2. Ok cute cat, but divine dessert and interesting that you can use agar instead of gelatin, i should look into that further.. c

    November 25, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Celia, agar is much better for desserts, it has not smell whereas I find the animal derivative does which is not very pleasant

      November 25, 2011
  3. This looks like something I’ll have to try and, as you say, keeps them fresh and topping with panna cotta – well two of my favourite things! Colours are so vibrant and look great in the glass jars! Lovely post.

    November 25, 2011
  4. Gorgeous looking dessert. We do ahev strawberries (if the ducks don’t get them) so I’m going to try this one.

    November 25, 2011
  5. How cute! Lovely colours and nice use of pacific harvest agar! I’ve been wanting to try it. And do those glass ramekins look familiar…? Strawberries were 3 punnets for $5 at my market this morning so we might find ourselves having this for dessert tomorrow :)

    November 25, 2011
  6. Ooh, the red strawberry jelly and cream coloured panna cotta look very striking together!

    I can see from the photo that agar must have stronger setting properties than plain ol’ gelatin, which is something I didn’t know!

    November 25, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      It certainly does have a strong setting, you have to be careful with it that’s why I recommend you go by packet instructions. The jelly didn’t set as firm with the same ratio which has sometime to do with citrus/acid level in conjunction with the agar.

      November 26, 2011
  7. I approve of jelly and panna cotta made with agar agar :-)! And the kitty too!

    Did you use the jars from those Gu puddings? I kept them too!

    Ciao
    A.

    November 26, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I did use the jars, I think we might see them in a lot of posts in future, Bron has used them too.

      November 26, 2011
  8. I love agar rather than gelatine. I wish I could do more but they are not widely available in the countryside. Strawberry is on season now, it is lovely how you make the most of it. Looks so refresing!

    November 26, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Arfi, email me your address and I will post you some agar so you can make pudding for your gorgeous family :0)

      November 26, 2011
  9. That is a lovely dessert! I love the idea.

    your cat Diesel is sooooo cute! i like the way he puts his tongue out…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    November 26, 2011
  10. This looks great. I like that you’ve left the strawberries in little chunks, and what a beautiful colour contrast with the pannacotta!

    Diesel is such a handsome cat :)

    November 27, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      He’s my big baby, 10 years old.

      November 27, 2011
  11. Snap! Just read Bron’s post similar to yours. Great minds think alike ;-) LOVE that you use agar instead of gelatine. I wouldn’t go near the stuff and much prefer to play around with agar-agar even if it does give slightly different textures.

    November 27, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I think the GU pots from conference will inspire lots of similar puddings. It was funny Bron and I were chatting pre weekend and realised we were on the same wave length with our puds as well as a few other dishes we were planning. Glad you said great minds think alike not fools seldom differ :o)

      November 27, 2011
  12. Louise M. Fawcett #

    that looks absolutely scrumptious…and the agar has a lot of good health and culinary qualities over traditional gelatine !

    November 27, 2011
  13. They look so pretty, love strawberry season! Poor Diesel, dealing with the paparazzi must be such a chore…….!

    November 27, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      He’s s more relaxed than Millie who is hard to get a pic of

      November 27, 2011
  14. Gorgeous Diesel :) And the panna cotta looks gorgeous too! :)

    December 2, 2011
  15. Yum, I’m so pleased you made the panna cottas with agar, I hope I can get some too for next time. Smooches for Diesel and Millie, she really is a wiley one that one ;-)

    December 3, 2011
  16. Yum – they look like sunshiney-heaven. (We have about eight of those Gu ramekins).

    December 5, 2011
  17. That looks absolutely amazing. I have to try it with the strawberries growing in the garden!

    December 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,284 other followers

