Skip to content

Moscow Mule Slushy and a Birthday

20111126-192349.jpg

Today my blog turns three and it almost passed by without me realizing, I didn’t bake a cake for the event, to be honest I had eaten enough sweet things the last few days after the Panna cotta and then a ton of fudge I have not even blogged about I couldn’t face anything else…until next week of course. So instead I will celebrate the three years with a summer cocktail and my version of a Moscow Mule.

The celebrations don’t stop there, today I will finally become a New Zealand citizen and will be at the official ceremony this evening. It’s taken ten years to become a Kiwi so it will be a momentous occasion.

By freezing down a ginger sugar syrup then blending it into a slushy makes a wonderful base for the cocktail. You could even make the kids some mocktails by skipping the vodka bit.

Did you notice I have snook a bit of Christmas in there with the cocktail stirrers?

Ingredients – makes 4
Makes 4
2 cups water
1 cup sugar
1.5 tsp ground ginger powder
A few shots of vodka
Squeeze lime juice
Soda water
Mint leaves (optional)

Method
Place the sugar, ginger and water in a pan over a medium heat and simmer for 5 minutes.
Allow to cool then pour into a container and freeze ( I always do this mid week so I am ready for weekend)
Once frozen place in a blender and whiz on the drinks setting if it has one.
Scoop slushy ice into 4 glasses.
Add a shot of vodka to each.
Top with a squeeze of lime, splash of soda and mint leaf.
Enjoy!

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love moscow mules, I make my own gingerbeer for when I want one, But you have an old CREAM BOTTLE!! that is so sweet. If you have been in NZ for ten years you may even remember them having cream in them.. Or am i showing my age. Congrats on becoming a kiwi, and three years blogging.. you are a star! Now, I am off down to the basement to gingerly (scuse the pun) bring up a bottle of gingerbeer.. c

    November 28, 2011
  2. Congrats on both counts! This looks like the perfect way to celebrate. I always love coming here, OK lately I’ve had a few fits of berry envy, but I’ve worked past them!

    November 28, 2011
  3. Happy blog birthday, and congrats on becoming a New Zeland citiizen! What an exciting time for you! I’d make mine virgin, but this sounds so delicious!

    November 28, 2011
  4. Congrats for the blog anniversary and the citizenship !

    November 28, 2011
  5. Happy blog(birth) day Alli, and congrats on becoming a Kei-wei! Have you decided to swear on the bible or on queenie? I did swore my oath to queenie. Oh you’ll also be singing the national as well – don’t worry, if your ceremony is anything like mine, the words are up on a projector! We had given tea and biscuits after the ceremony. It was all very twee! :-))

    November 28, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      to Queenie of course! I thought that was quite funny a POM swearing allegiance to the queen. I hope the words are on a projector, I haven’t learnt them. I’m number 475 so i think it might be a long evening so dinner first.

      November 28, 2011
  6. Congrats! Have a lovely evening:)

    November 28, 2011
  7. Happy Blog anniversary! We started at the same time and mine is next week. I have to celebrate too.

    November 28, 2011
  8. Yay! Enjoy the ceremony and happy blogoversary x

    November 28, 2011
  9. Happy blog birthday!!!! I’ll keep you company and have a drink too, thank you!

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    November 28, 2011
  10. Happy Three Year Blogiversary — that’s definitely something to raise a glass to!

    I like how one of your stir stick guys looks like he’s tipped over because he’s had a bit too much of the sauce. ;)

    November 28, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Definitely too much sauce for Mr Snowman! Hubby was trying to throw those cocktail stirrers out and I thought, not they are so kitch I love them.

      November 30, 2011
  11. Congrats and enjoy! I love the milk bottle in the photo, where did you get those?

    November 29, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I picked a couple of these bottles up off Trademe, search under 300ml cream bottles. It’s what the milk and cream used to be delivered in but that was before I lived here. Very cute aren’t they?

      November 30, 2011
  12. Wow, Happy blogday, and becoming-a-NZ-citizen day. And what a great way to celebrate. The drink sounds extremely palatable – all those aromatic, zingy flavours. I bet it tastes positively good for you (and probably is).

    November 30, 2011
  13. I have never tried this but it looks wonderful! A Very Happy Blog Anniversary to you as well as a big congratulations on your citizenship :)

    December 1, 2011
  14. Mel #

    Happy bloggy birthday, and congrats on your citizenship! Your drink up there looks so celebratory and sounds most delicious!

    P.S. I hope you did get dinner before the ceremony – I was starving by the end of mine last year! ;-)

    December 2, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes we were tipped off that the ceremony took some time and went for dinner before hand.

      December 3, 2011
  15. Happy Blog Birthday! 3 years is quite an achievement :) And you’ve become a Kiwi…congrats! I really must get round to doing it too! I never seem to get past the paperwork. But back to the cocktail…perfect for longer summer evenings & I wouldn’t be skipping the vodka!!

    December 2, 2011
  16. Spending some time catching up this am… Happy 3 years! and congratulations on becoming a Kiwi too… Now seriously how good are these slushies? I’m freezing and whizzing up all sorts of fruity concoctions, sadly haven’t found the Teza down here, might have to try ordering online.

    December 3, 2011
  17. Mum #

    Hello youuuuu! Busy child. I have been busy on the computer all afternoon, Looking for some recipes. you may, or may not have heard, that we are going your sisters for Xmas. So I decided I would do some baking and surprise her with edible goodies. Well hopefully, if they all turn out ok. I have decided on……..A date and walnut cake, now this next one sounds rather strange to me, but I am going to have a go……Can’t say you don’t like it until you’ve tried it ????? It is chocolate brownie’s with beetroot. Certainly different. Well not until I just printed off your! Cheese and bacon scones, with piccalilli.
    Seeing a few of your previous comments. I also must send our congratulations, on your becoming a full blown Kiwi……………Boo! hoo! And also on your third year of blogging. Speak soon. Love to you both

    December 11, 2011
  18. Wow 3 years! That’s a huge achievement, well done. And congrats on you citizenship too! Awesome xx

    December 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

