Skip to content

Christmas Jamie Dodgers with Cinnamon & Ginger

20111214-214821.jpg

The Jamie Dodger is a biscuit of my youth, I can’t say they were my favourite at the time as they were probably bought as an economical choice to stretch amongst us kids. Although now I am older and no longer live in the UK I look back at them quite fondly. I did like the chewy bit of jam in the centre though more than the biscuits itself so I have decided to revamp the Jamie Dodger to my taste with a little Christmas spice too. For my biscuits I have added cinnamon to a sable dough and added Opies ginger spread to the centres. You could use any ginger jam available in you neck of the woods. If you are a ginger fan, Opies make a wonderful range of ginger products, unfortunately the shop I used to buy mine from has closed its doors and I haven’t yet found a new source. Being a UK product I’m not sure there will be many places in NZ that stock it but do let me know if you come across it in Auckland.

Ingredients
Ingredients – makes 12
300g plain flour
200g butter
100g castor sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
100g ginger jam/spread
1 egg

Method
Preheat oven to 180C.
Place all the ingredients except for the ginger jam and egg in a food processor and blitz till the dough becomes fine breadcrumbs in texture.
Add the egg and pulse until a dough starts to form. Remove from food processor and bring together by hand.
Roll the dough out in between to sheets of baking paper to prevent it sticking to the work surface or rolling pin, to about 1/2 inch thick.
Rest in the fridge till chilled.
Cut out shapes with a round cookie cutter. Half of the biscuits need to have the centre cut out with a smaller cutter (round, heart, star shaped).
Re-roll the off cuts of dough to make more biscuits.
Place biscuits on a non stick baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.
Once cookies are cool, dust the top biscuit with icing sugar.
Spread a generous amount of ginger jam on the base biscuit and press the top biscuit into the jam to form a sandwich.

Enjoy! Alli

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. So pretty and divine looking! I love old-fashioned cookies.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    December 14, 2011
  2. Yummie – they look delicious. I like the idea of ginger jam with it.

    December 14, 2011
  3. I ate these as a child too in Singapore. Yours look utterly scrumpdili-licious!!

    December 14, 2011
  4. Beautiful!

    December 14, 2011
  5. I didn’t know them, and they look great, probably the perfect biscuits for this weather!

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    December 14, 2011
  6. I love Jammie Dodgers, You can buy them in NZ, they are called shrewsburys, and my son (in California and I LONG for them and, maybe will give this recipe the test run! c

    December 14, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      I got a bot confused with the Shrewsbury biscuit because in the UK they have fruit in the and are very different to Jamie dodgers.

      December 15, 2011
  7. I love cookies as such! Never knew it was called Jammie Dodgers :D Gorgeous photo!

    BTW, thanks for visiting my blog!

    December 14, 2011
  8. Beautiful! Now I want to get my hands on (or make) some ginger jam…!

    December 14, 2011
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, I’m thinking that might be the way to go if I can’t buy it. Can’t be hard to make can it?

      December 15, 2011
  9. These look so good, similar in form to Spitzbuebe/Linzer Cookies. A favourite of mine. But I never would have thought of using a ginger jam, great idea.

    December 15, 2011
  10. They do remind of my childhood, and the jammie bit was the best :) Though I think yours look & sound way better than the original….loving the ginger.

    December 16, 2011
  11. These look gorgeous, Alli. I never heard of jammie dodgers before, but these look a bit like what we would call shrewsbury biscuits. Love the idea of ginger jam.
    Sue xo

    December 17, 2011
  12. perfection ^^
    can I have two?

    December 19, 2011
  13. These are a great idea and a festive take on jammie dogers (loved them). This will make a change to my usual gingerbread biscuit fest.

    December 19, 2011
  14. Ooh I love ginger anything, these sound beautiful. Stunning photo too :-)

    December 19, 2011
  15. Beautiful! I’ve never made cookies like this, but the certainly look delicious :) The ginger jam inside looks so yummy.

    December 19, 2011
  16. Haven´t had a jd for years – now I´ll either have to make them (preferable) or ask my next visitors to bring some over!

    December 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,369 other followers

