Skip to content

Summer Sandwich Series – Hot Smoked Salmon with a Lime Kelp Cucumber Pickle

20120214-102115.jpg

Here is the next sandwich in my series, smoked salmon with a fresh zingy pickle to go with it. The sharp zesty pickle compliments the richness of the salmon. I hadn’t eaten hot smoked fish much until I moved to New Zealand but the Kiwis are mad on hot smoking and living out by the beach there always seems to be someone out catching or smoking fish. We are very lucky, we have very generous friends who often drop off a fish or two, sometimes raw, sometimes already smoked. In fact our old electric oven which we were about to throw away got converted into an outdoor smoker by our neighbour, it’s very effective and you have to love the Kiwi ingenuity of it.

The salmon for the sandwich was bought from the local farmers market, smoked with lime and a local Horopito leaf. The Horopito has a peppery taste to it and has been used by the Maori as a medicinal and culinary herb for centuries.

Ingredients for Cucumber Pickle
1 cucumber, peeled
1 tsp Lime Kelp Seasoning – Pacific Harvest
1 inch fresh ginger, finely grated
Juice of one small lime
Handful coriander leaves, chopped
1tsp honey or brown sugar
Pinch of chili powder
Salt and pepper to taste

Method
Use the peeling to peel the cucumber into ribbons.
Add all ingredients except cucumber to a bowl and combine.
Add cucumber ribbons and toss through dressing.
Season to taste with salt and pepper.
Assemble sandwiches immediately as you want the cucumber fresh and crisp
The rest of the sandwich is the hot smoke salmon and slices of avocado.

22 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love this sandwich, it looks so good. It is a very nice combination of ingredients, light and delicious.

    February 13, 2012
  2. This looks perfect, i am fascinated by the cucumber pickle (dying for my garden to get underway) and Oh I remember smoking fish, over a fire, the fish smothered in honey. We were by the river one time in NZ. It is one of my favourite scented memories.. c

    February 13, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      A lovely kiwi memory :0)

      February 13, 2012
  3. Sounds delicious and how nice to do your own smoking ;-)

    February 13, 2012
  4. A scrummy sandwich! Wow, what a great choice of ingredients and flavors.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    February 13, 2012
  5. Bunny Eats Design #

    Yum. I adore hot smoked salmon, although I’ll eat it any way it comes. I’m interested about you converted oven smoker. Sounds like a cool addition to the outdoor kitchen.

    February 13, 2012
    • I think I might need to post some instruction and pics on how to convert one

      February 13, 2012
  6. I swear we have that same candle holder! Love this sandwich!

    February 13, 2012
    • I’d like to say it was a family heirloom but it came from Ikea so I would be surprised if you have one :0)

      February 13, 2012
  7. mairi29 #

    This sandwich sounds fantastic, love the pickle with it. Nothing really beats fresh home smoked salmon.

    February 13, 2012
  8. Wow that sandwich is something to die for, I love all its components, Salmon, cucumber, Honey, chillies the flavours must be so exposive

    February 13, 2012
  9. That sounds so good and as for smoking your on fish – how wonderful, very jealous!

    February 14, 2012
  10. I love hot-smoked salmon – one of my favourite things, and I love it with pickled cucumber. Great sandwich. Wish I’d thought to keep my old oven when I renovated the kitchen – never occured to me that I could turn it into a smoker. Obviously this Kiwi is lacking a little ingenuity!!
    xo

    February 15, 2012
  11. Ooh, you used pacific harvest! It’s still on my list of things to try out at home from the conference. And can I please second the call for oven to smoker conversion instructions!

    February 15, 2012
  12. Yue #

    The photo is amazing!

    February 16, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Yue

      February 18, 2012
  13. This pickle sounds delicious and wonderful combination with the salmon. I’m a total pickle fiend so would happily eat this on it’s own with a slice of home made bread.

    February 17, 2012
  14. Good morning :) I found your blog from celi at the kitchens garden: weekend blog reading! What a delicious looking sandwich, your photo is great!

    February 18, 2012
  15. That is one delectable sandwich! Love those cucumber pickles :)

    February 18, 2012
  16. Smoked salmon and pickle… awesome idea, it would be perfect together:) The sandwich, the party umbrella… perfect!

    February 18, 2012
  17. I’m officially starving hungry now that I’ve read this post. Looks and sounds awesome.

    February 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Introductions and reflections have no shadows: Weekend Blog Reading | thekitchensgarden

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,747 other followers

