Skip to content

Apricot & Mint Smoothies & Ice Pops

20120224-043053.jpg

The seasonal stone fruit is just perfect at the moment in New Zealand, sweet, juicy and if you live rurally you can pick up a large bag at the street side stalls for just a few dollars. So during this season it is time to take advantage of the abundance of fruit by preserving, poaching and baking them and when you have had enough of that try turning them into smoothies and ice pops. Perfect for kids as a quick treat after school before dinner, nothing in them to spoil their appetite and they have no additional sugar since the apricots are sweet enough, although you could add a dollop of honey to taste if your have a sweet tooth. I find them perfect as a 3pm pick me up in the office, it replaces that chocolate craving I always get and cools the brow during these hot afternoons when you have no air con :o)

You can vary them by replacing the yoghurt and water for any fruit juice, coconut milk or regular milk. For more ideas, Emma over at My Darling Lemon Thymealso bogged about an exotic berry Lassi last week, this is definitely one to try.

If you have a glut of apricots why not make a larger batch of smoothie and freeze down the rest as ice pops. I use my tall shot glasses since I don’t have dedicated ice pop containers and the wooden ice pop sticks are easy to find in the shops.

Ingredients-2 smoothies
4 apricots
small sprig of mint
2 tbsp yoghurt
cup of water, or apple juice if you prefer

Method
Place all the ingredients into a blend and whiz to a smooth drink.
Serve chilled….easy peasy!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. I adore apricots but we don´t get them here very often :( That bottle took me right back to infant school and milk in the break!

    February 23, 2012
  2. Apricots are difficult to source in the middle of winter here (UK) but I have high hopes for this idea in a few months. Maybe use frozen fruit and berries until then? Ooooh yes.

    February 23, 2012
    • Ooh yes the fresh berries in the UK are the best I have ever tasted and would make amazing smoothies.

      February 24, 2012
  3. Lovely apricots and like Chica Andaluza said, I’m back in the playground too!

    February 23, 2012
  4. Delicious! What a refreshing flavor.

    cheers,

    Rosa

    February 23, 2012
  5. Oh that looks divine and there is that lovely cream bottle again! c

    February 23, 2012
    • Hee…hee, that bottle is so naughty it tries to get in all the shots!

      February 24, 2012
  6. The photo is incredible! This looks so delicious!

    February 23, 2012
  7. Yum, like an apricot lassi :-). I love these kinds of drink, and the pic is adorable :-).

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    February 23, 2012
  8. I love summer fruit smoothies – peach and raspberry is one of my favourite combos. Haven’t tried apricot, but I can imagine it’s wonderful – must give that a try on the weekend – and what a great idea turning the leftovers into ice pops. That is definitely one to try.

    Have a lovely weekend
    xo

    February 24, 2012
    • I didn’t get round to photographing them unfortunately but I’m sure you can imagine how cute the icepops are and yum.

      February 24, 2012
  9. The cold and wet weather has spoiled my appetite for summery things but this post has inspired to push on and make the most of the wonderful fruits nevertheless.

    February 24, 2012
  10. I love apricots – admit that I am just a wee bit jealous, as we’re in that period before all the spring goodies arrive. Like the idea of the hint of mint with the apricots too, not a combination I would have thought of.

    February 25, 2012
    • I hadn’t intended mint but we have s much in the garden I threw it in last minute! Gave it a nice fresh zing.

      February 25, 2012
  11. This would make a lovely breakfast/treat! I actually do have some apricots lying around… going to enjoy them now. :D

    February 25, 2012
  12. Cute – really like the old milk bottle! Good way to get the kids to eat fruit over lollies!!!

    February 25, 2012
  13. I love the combination…so refreshing and delightful!

    February 26, 2012
  14. Ooh… apricot and mint! Who’da thunk? I’ve had peach and mint before, but those beautiful, fresh apricots look like they’d have the most gorgeous flavour ever! I can’t wait for summer to return to the Great White North.

    February 26, 2012
  15. Perfect & refreshing….love the freshness the mint would add :)

    March 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

