Skip to content

Courgette Kasundi Soup

20120311-174625.jpg

Sometimes the most satisfying dishes are the ones you throw together quickly with ingredients left over in the fridge. Last weekend after catering a four course wedding breakfast I found myself with a big bag of courgettes left over. I have no idea why I had over estimated on courgettes when I was only using them in a roast vegetable stack for the vegan option on the wedding menu but with a work trip to Sydney the next day and a hubby that won’t eat veg if I don’t cook them I wanted to use them up. A quick courgette soup was the answer and as I was getting the veg out of the fridge my eyes landed on a jar of Kasundi I had bought the week before while at the farmers market in Doubtless Bay, those flavours would give it some zing. If you don’t have a jar of Kasundi here is a recipe if you want to make it. I’m certainly going to when I have more time, it’s great for additional flavours to a dish or using as a chutney or dip.

Ingedients
8 courgettes/zucchini, grated or julienned in a food processor
2 tbsp Kasundi
2 cloves garlic, crushed or finely chopped
2 cups veg stock
2 cups water
4 spring onions, finely sliced
Olive oil
Salt & pepper
Pinch cayenne pepper, optional

Method
In a large pan over a medium heat, add a tablespoon of olive oil and the sliced spring onions and garlic.
Cook for two minutes and then add the Kasundi, courgettes, stock and water.
Let the soup simmer for 10 minutes.
Season with salt and pepper and a pinch of cayenne pepper if you like a bit more chili kick.
How simple is that?
Serve with a nice crusty loaf.

This is where I bought my beautiful pot from, The Stone Store in Keri Keri which is the oldest stone building in NZ.

20120315-071302.jpg

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks and sounds delicious. That’s a beautiful cooking pot too!

    March 14, 2012
  2. Flo Guenand #

    Thank you for your cool recipes Allison! I also discovered today what Kasundi is – clicked on the link and got the recipe…
    And congratulations on the way your blog looks. You take the most beautiful pictures and every little detail seems to be well thought out. Very pro!
    Flo

    March 14, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Flo for the knd words and following my blog, hope you are well.

      March 15, 2012
  3. My courgettes are still producing and this will be a perfect way to move from summery salads, pizza and pasta to autumn soups. Great pot – and fantastic at the Stone Store. We spent a wonderful week in Keri Keri years ago before we moved to NZ. I remember it rained incessently the whole time but it didn’t stop out fun.

    March 14, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      It was my first visit, very pretty and the store is amazing and of course I went to Makana chocolates too!

      March 15, 2012
  4. Love that pot! My zucchini plants in the garden are growing madly these days. Huge with gigantic leaves and never ending zucchinis from them. I often make Nigel Slater’s Zucchini, Feta and Dill fritters which I shared on instagram and Flickr–and I think I have posted it a long time ago for I love Nigel Slater’s recipes. So easy and generous.

    March 14, 2012
  5. Love the soup. Really love the pot!

    March 14, 2012
  6. Bunny Eats Design #

    Love the pot too. Do you cook in that or just serve in it? It could double duty as a cauldron at Halloween :)

    March 14, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Tee hee, very good idea for the Halloween pot, will have to come up with a witches broth! Yes you cook in the pot too, it’s solid caste iron so it goes straight on the oven top. They had them with little legs too but I didn’t see myself lighting a camp fire every time I use it.

      March 15, 2012
      • Bunny Eats Design #

        Little legs! How delightful. I imagine this pot will last for many generations of witches to come.

        March 15, 2012
  7. Great photo Alli and I know it’s repeating comment but I LOVE that pot!

    March 14, 2012
  8. That soup sounds lovely!

    That house is beautiful.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    March 15, 2012
  9. Like everyone else, I love the pot too! Great recipe – had never heard of Kasundi but it sounds amazing.

    March 16, 2012
  10. This sounds so delicious and the shop where you bought the pot is one I would love to visit!

    March 16, 2012
  11. Love the pot!!! And the soup :) I have never head of Kasundi but I am loving the sound of it.

    March 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,378 other followers

