Skip to content

Soy Salmon with an Avocado, Lime, Wasabi Salsa

20120409-113104.jpg

I hope you all enjoyed a long weekend break over Easter, for me it was nice to be home for four days and the sun shone all weekend long. The last of our summer days I think, the gannets have all but a few flown from the colony, leaving just me behind till they return next year.

We often cook this dish on the BBQ as part of several dishes but Easter weekend we decided to have it on it’s own for our Sunday brunch served on a piece of whole grain toast, very decadent. It’s a really versatile dish that can be served as an entree on its own, as a main with steam veg or even as a canapé on little crispy croutons

Salmon cooks well on the BBQ, you need to remove the skin though as it will stick to the BBQ grill. The method is the same if you decide to cook it on your barbie. The marinate of soy and sugar caramelizes beautifully on the flame grill but here I cooked it in my cast iron pan and it was almost as good, I wasn’t going to fire up our charcoal BBQ for just one fillet so it was a good compromise.

I usually only buy one 4inch wide salmon fillet between the two of us, although I really enjoy salmon it can be quite rich and a small amount goes a long way so I have based my recipe on one fillet but you can easily double the quantities if you are cooking for more.

Ingredients for two
1 Salmon filet, sliced in half length ways
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp brown sugar
1 ripe avocado
1 tsp wasabi paste
juice and zest of 1 lime
2 spring onions, finely sliced

Method
Remove the skin from the salmon, it marinates better this way.
Warm the soy and sugar together so that the sugar dissolves.
In a small flat bottom container pour the soy and sugar, add the skinned salmon.
Marinate for 15 minutes turning every couple of minutes.
While the salmon is marinating make the avocado salsa.
Cut the avocado in half and remove the stone and scoop out the flesh.
Place the avocado flesh in a bowl with the lime zest and juice and wasabi paste.
Mash together to a lumpy texture rather than smooth purée.
Add the sliced spring onions and season with salt and pepper to taste, put aside in fridge.
Heat a cast iron or heavy bottom frying pan with a tablespoon of veg oil and place over a medium heat.
Once the pan is hot put the salmon fillets in and cook for 1 minute, turn the fillets over.
Brush the cooked side with more marinate and cook the second side for 1 minute.
Turn the fillet over and repeat the process on both sides, brushing with marinate and cooking each side for another minute (cooking time altogether 4 minutes).
Test the fillets are cooked to your liking, I prefer them a little undercooked.
Serve with the avocado salsa.

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks delicious! What refined flavors. I love wasabi.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    April 9, 2012
  2. peasepudding #

    Thanks Rosa, we both had salmon this weekend and I really liked the sound of those burgers you tweeted about…maybe a recipe?

    April 9, 2012
  3. That looks incredible, and decadent (as you say) but we all need to be a little decadent every so often!

    April 9, 2012
  4. Delicious!

    April 9, 2012
  5. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Man Oh Man…Salmon is my second favorite fish, Catfish being my all time favorite fish. Try this from “Pease Pudding”….it is delicious. Happy Day After Easter.

    April 9, 2012
  6. Bunny Eats Design #

    Yum! We have been eating salmon a lot this week and it’s my all time favourite fish. I love punchy flavours from different cuisines.

    April 9, 2012
  7. I always love seeing new ways to use avocado. Especially ones that resemble guac. Love this!

    April 9, 2012
  8. Mmmm,one of my favorite at a japanese resto that comes with pickled radish, thanks for the recipe.

    April 10, 2012
  9. Wow perfectly presented! This is for a magazine cover

    April 10, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      You’re too king Raymund, thanks

      April 12, 2012
  10. Lovely glamorous way to serve salmon, and yet so simple! Just beautiful Alli!

    April 12, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Jemma, it is nice and easy and gives salmon a bit of kick

      April 12, 2012
  11. Looks divine, Alli – I love salmon (probably my favourite fish), and love the idea of the salsa with this – must try.

    Sorry I haven’t visited for a while. I’ve closed the yoga school down (just not working here, sadly), but I’ve started working part-time at Stevens homewares. I only have permanent hours of 20 hours a week at this stage, but I’ve been covering for other staff on leave, so have actually been working a lot more. Really enjoying the job, but very tempting to be spending lots of my hard-earned wages on cookware, etc!!

    Hope all good with you, and pleased you had nice Easter weekend. We had stunning weekend here too – weatherwise anyway – though I did work on Saturday and Monday.

    xo

    April 14, 2012
  12. wasabi and avocado! It sounds just perfect together. I’ve been having a lot of Japanese-inspired fish lately (for breakfast!!) and this salmon sounds like it would slot in very nicely in my morning routine…

    April 18, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I like the idea of it for breakfast too, particularly now the weather is cooling down

      April 19, 2012
  13. Salmon & wasabi….great flavours.

    April 29, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Missing New Zealand’s greenshell mussels… « Two Spoons
  2. Friday’s Favourite Five | Time for a Little Something

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

