Skip to content

Latin American Style Ceviche

20120429-091429.jpg

I was introduce to Pacific style ceviche here in New Zealand a few years ago and became addicted to it, it’s not a dish we Brits would eat back home, we like our fish dipped in batter and deep fried! If you gave me the choice now of both dishes I would always pick the ceviche over good old fashion fish and chips, ok..ok if it was cold, wet and windy I probably would take the sole warming battered and deep fried dish.

I was over at Cook the Books a few months ago where Grace and Felicity were introducing us to Latin American style ceviches, we sampled many and they were all delicious, they are my new favourite with lots of lime, chillies and no coconut milk. Unfortunately I have lost the recipes they gave me so I have cobbled this one together in Pacifc style but without the coconut milk. I really must get the prawn ceviche recipe off them, it was truly delicious.

We are fortunate out in Muriwai as we have many friends who go fishing and bring us fresh snapper only a fews hours old, this make the perfect ceviche. If you’re not as lucky as us do make sure you use the freshest fish available.

Ingredients
200g Snapper fillet, shinned
juice of 2 limes (approx 100ml)
Thumb size piece of ginger, peeled and grated
1 hot chilli pepper, seeded and finely sliced
1 clove garlic, crushed or finely chopped
2 spring onions, finely sliced
Handful coriander, finely chopped
1 small cucumber
Salt to season

Method
Slice the cucumber down the centre and remove the seeds by running a teaspoon along the centre.
Then slice the cucumber into 1 cm thick pieces.
Slice the snapper into 2 cm thick slices.
Mix together all the ingredients except the snapper and cucumber and season the juice with salt to your taste.
Toss the snapper and cucumber through the juice and refrigerate for 15 minutes, this will start to ‘cook’ the snapper. It doesn’t need long but if you prefer it cooked through more leave it for 30 minutes.
Serve in small bowls or on clean banana leaves!

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. That looks delicious – I’d eat it, you should see how many sushi bars there are in London now ;-)

    April 28, 2012
  2. Jueseppi B. #

    I am not a fan of raw fish at all, it has to do with the texture of raw meats, fish. I do have some clients who love ceviche and request it when I cook for them, I will try this recipe.

    April 28, 2012
  3. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I am not a fan of raw fish at all, it has to do with the texture of raw meats, fish. I do have some clients who love ceviche and request it when I cook for them, I will try this recipe.

    April 28, 2012
  4. Ooh this looks amazing. I would love to try making ceviche but I’m always a bit concerned about finding fish fresh enough – you’re so lucky that your friends bring fresh fish to you! For the record, I’m a Brit and I enjoy fish pretty much every way – although there is something very tempting about battered and deep fried with a side of chips and mushy peas :)

    April 28, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Ah yes, mushy peas, how could I possibly forget them! Love them too

      April 28, 2012
  5. Scrumptious! That is something so delicious and wonderfully fresh.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    April 28, 2012
  6. If you love the Pacific style and Latin American ceviche then you will also love the Filipino version, we have two first is with mixed crispy pork (http://wp.me/pMp9M-10T) and the one without (http://wp.me/pMp9M-10Q), sometimes we use coconut milk as well.

    April 29, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Wow, the dish with the pork certainly is interesting, two different textures, both of which I love.

      April 29, 2012
  7. That looks and sounds amazing. I really should do more dishes like this as we can get such tasty and fresh fish!

    April 29, 2012
  8. Looks delicious. We Americans love fried fish too, but we do love sushi and ceviche as well. This is a great recipe and great presentation.

    April 29, 2012
  9. Love ceviche and this looks fantastic! I’m definitely making this one next time ceviche is on the menu. :)

    April 29, 2012
  10. Delicious, so light & fresh. I had a an amazing tostada with ceviche at Mexican Specialities the other week….could be a fun place for a catch up :)

    April 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,376 other followers

