Skip to content

Chocolate Espresso Melting Moment Cookies

20120623-214822.jpg

I remember making melting moments or Viennese biscuits as a young apprentice, back in the day when they used to make us pipe the mixture into fancy shaped biscuits rather than roll and slice. I was a skinny 17 year old with muscles like ‘knots on cotton’ a piping bag the size of my arm and not a hope in hell of pushing that dough out of the end. I had a love hate relationship with these biscuits, loved to eat them but just couldn’t pipe them to the amusement of everyone else in the kitchen. How sensible I thought, arriving in NZ and finding these pretty biscuits made from the same dough but rolled, sliced and a nice pattern pressed with a fork instead.

The traditional recipe has been tweaked after reading Lucy’s post over at Kitchen Maid who is hosting We Should Cocoa event in June, founded by Choclette. To enter you have to make something chocolatey with Lucy’s choice of ingredient for the month, coffee. So here it is:

Ingredients Biscuits
175g butter, softened
1/4 cup icing sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/4 cups plain four
1/2 cup corn four

Ingredients Filling
50g butter, softened
1/2 cup icing sugar
50g 70% cocoa chocolate
1 tsp fine ground espresso powder

Method
Preheat oven to 180C
To make the biscuit, cream butter and icing sugar until light and fluffy.
Sift the flour, cocoa and corn flour into the butter mix.
Work ingredients together to form a dough.
Roll dough into a sausage shape then divide into 20.
Roll each piece of dough into a ball and place on non stick tray then flatten balls slightly with a fork to make an imprint.
Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes. remove from the oven and allow to cool.
To make the filling, melt the chocolate over a double boiler. Once melted remove from boiler and add the butter, coffee grains and icing sugar. Allow mixture to cool and it will become firm enough to pipe or spread.
Sandwich two biscuits together with a spoonful of the filling.

29 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Oh Sweet YummY. Thank you Pease Pudding.

    June 23, 2012
  2. Mmmhhh, divine! I love such cookies. Just irresistible.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    June 23, 2012
  3. stephen palmer #

    love the site and recipes, but could you please give specific weights rather than a cup, the size/weight of a cup can be slightly ambiguous . other than that brill

    June 23, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Stephen, yes it’s a bad habit I have got into since living in NZ where they use cups. I never owned a cup measure before living here so I will endevour to adjust the recipes. Thanks for your feedback. Alli

      June 23, 2012
  4. What gorgeous cookies and beautiful photography!

    June 23, 2012
  5. Divine! Can’t wait to make these :)

    June 23, 2012
  6. I’m getting fatter looking at them ;-)

    June 23, 2012
  7. If we weren’t starting on a new eating regime I’d most definitely be making these. That said I might give them a go anyway and take them to the bloggers meet up in two weeks time :o)

    June 23, 2012
  8. My favourite flavours together. They look perfect.

    June 23, 2012
  9. Yum I had a melting moment looking at those!

    June 23, 2012
  10. Oh my….they just leapt out go the computer at me and made me crave chocolate!…Diet starts tomorrow

    June 23, 2012
  11. Food Stories #

    Just beautiful :-)

    June 23, 2012
  12. Coffee & chocolate….love!

    June 23, 2012
  13. Pressed down with a fork? Nah, surely you mean pressed with a bit of no.8 wire! Thanks for joining in #weshouldcocoa this month – such an inspired and gorgeous entry (not that I expected anything less!)

    June 23, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      LOL, that’s more like it, Kiwi style!

      June 23, 2012
  14. The sweetest biscuits you will every find and with chocolate and coffee, well…total swoon. Elizabeth from thedotdotblog.

    June 23, 2012
  15. I’m loving the light in your pictures at the moment, so soft and warm. It’s making me wish it was winter here. The light here is so bright and harsh, not to mention it’s boiling hot, taking pictures is hard work in this heat!! These look so delicious perfect for when I’m having a melting moment!! Thanks btw for mentioning me in your guest post, so sweet & I see why you love what katie ate’s pics, they’re inspirational!!

    June 24, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I aim to get as good as Katie ;0) that’s my goal so I have booked myself on a photography course starting July! Very excited. The lighting is using dark reflectors rather than white, althought we are lucky in NZ the light is very ‘clean and white’

      June 24, 2012
      • Oooo, dark reflectors, how cool, there is always so much more to learn about photography, that’s why we love it I suppose. Really jealous of your upcoming course, looking forward to seeing your new pictures though, maybe I can learn a litlle through you!!

        June 26, 2012
  16. These look delicious! I haven’t had melting moments in forever, and this makes me wanna whip up a batch right now. :)

    June 24, 2012
  17. I think I would also try that filling in my toast, mmmmm

    June 25, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      I like the sound of that Raymund, kind of like adults nutella witha coffee fix!

      June 25, 2012
  18. I used to think that these were so exotic because I was convinced that they came all the way from Vienna! They are still special though :D

    June 25, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      We can still dream! I think I might have to tackle the originals again at some point, get over my fear.

      June 25, 2012
  19. The cookies sounds yummy and I love the presentation.. So pretty!

    June 26, 2012
  20. Reblogged this on claratheginger and commented:
    mmmm!

    June 27, 2012
  21. looks awesome!!

    June 28, 2012
  22. Prateeksha #

    Beautiful photographs and cookies !!!! Will try them soon….

    August 6, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blogger vs blogger: Valentines bake off | FoodOpera

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

