Skip to content

A Pacific Wedding Cake

DSC_0057 (1)

This little cake is going on a flight today with friends who are attending their son’s wedding. A short flight thankfully to the Great Barrier Island which lies just off the East coast of Auckland (20 mins by plane maybe, I have only been by boat). It’s a beach wedding and the request was for something ‘untraditional’ to match the mood and venue.  Looking at the weather forecast for the next few days it will be Pacific sunny days too.

The cake has a chocolate fudge base and lemon yoghurt top, no recipe today sorry just a pic. As I started to place the flower motifs onto the cake I thought..OMG, it’s going to look awful, nothing like the picture they showed me but once all together I think it looks pretty good. It’s a gift from the parents of the groom and the wedding couple haven’t seen it yet, I hope they like it.

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Oh My….this is absolutely gorgeous. it doesn’t even have to taste good…as a matter of fact, if it were my wedding, I’d not let anyone near it with a knife!!!! Thank you Pease Pudding for sharing your creation with us.

    December 29, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Jueseppi, your too kind! I hope they do eat it :0)

      December 29, 2012
      • I’m curious….what would it cost for you to bake a cake, that exact cake, and ship it to Sugarloaf Key Florida?

        December 29, 2012
      • peasepudding #

        Hi Jueseppi, I don’t think it would travel too well that far. This one was being hand carried so quite safe in transport. The cake is probably 8kg and in two cake tins. If you showed the picture to a good cake maker I’m sure they could replicate it. I made my own stencils out of card. Failing that, if we come to the USA I’ll make you one :0)

        December 29, 2012
  2. So pretty! Love the two separate flavours(not a huge chocolate fan so lemon would be a treat ) well done, lucky couple xx

    December 29, 2012
  3. Oh my God Alli, this is lovely and the design is great. Spot on – I am sure they will love it! The chocolate and lemon cakes sound like a great match!

    December 29, 2012
  4. Folasade Adeluola #

    Giggling … unexpected thrills … I love it … Thanks …

    December 29, 2012
  5. Beautiful! I love the flavors.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    December 29, 2012
  6. That is really beautiful and so Pacific. It has worked well. Hopefully today’s weather lasts for the wedding.

    December 29, 2012
  7. I love it! What a beautiful and original cake design! I always get nervous making cakes that have to travel, well done you!

    December 29, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Carrying them your self isn’t too bad you treat them like your baby but you are sure how they will fare in others hands. Fondant is pretty robust though, not like some of the delicately iced cakes you make. I once made 2 foot croquembouche and it had to travel 30km, surprisingly they are sturdy things.

      December 29, 2012
  8. That’s really beautiful :-)

    December 29, 2012
  9. Hey wow, that’s awesome!

    December 29, 2012
  10. Tessa #

    What a gorgeous and vibrant cake!

    December 29, 2012
  11. Wow, that’s amazing!

    December 29, 2012
  12. I love the unique design and sure that it was a hit at the wedding.

    December 29, 2012
  13. Your cake looks so gorgeous good!

    December 29, 2012
  14. Wow!!

    December 29, 2012
  15. Looks stunning, – the colours just pop! Perfect for a summer wedding.

    December 29, 2012
  16. OMG that is so pretty! well done.

    Anyways Have a Prosperous New Year to you and your family!

    December 29, 2012
  17. Amy #

    What a stunning cake. Did you make the flowers from rolled fondant, cut by hand with your card stencil? I am sure it was a great hit at the wedding. Love it.

    December 31, 2012
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Amy, yes the flowers are made from pre coloured rolled fondant cut by hand around card stencils we made. Little more time consuming than flower cutters! Might have to go into business making them ;o)

      January 1, 2013
  18. That is such a bright ray of tropical sunshine prettiness. I’m so over winter already. Loving the chocolate fudge & lemon cakes idea too. I’d have a slice of each! ;)

    January 1, 2013
  19. Alli, the final cake looks stunning. I’m sure the bride and groom could not possibly have been happier.

    January 4, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,742 other followers

