Skip to content

Breakfast of Tomato Kasundi, Aubergine & Poached Eggs

DSC_0060 (1)

We received a huge box of fruit and veg for Christmas from one of Hubby’s clients, most of which we managed to eat except for the tomatoes. The only reason we didn’t get through all the tomatoes was because I had been gifted extra tomatoes by a friend a few days early. Kasundi was the solution before the fruit went past it’s best. Kasundi is an Indian tomato relish/chutney which is fragrant and spicy but you can moderate the heat if you make your own. I prefer a spicy hot kasundi and can eat it with anything and as you can see I have no problem with spicy food for breakfast either, they say it kick starts the metabolism.

There are tons of tomato kasundi recipes on the internet, I’m not ‘reinventing the wheel’ here so I will just direct you to the one I used from Taste.com.au  with a few tweaks. Here they used tinned tomatoes whereas I used 6 large fresh beef tomatoes which would have been the equivalent of 800g tinned. I didn’t cook my tomatoes for the length of time stated in their recipe either, I only cooked it for 40 minutes. By this time most of the liquid had evaporated. Tinned have a lot more liquid hence needing a longer cooking time. I divided the kasundi between 3 x 200g sterilised jars. You can use it straight away or keep it for ages in the sealed jars. You can use kasundi as a relish on burgers, as a chutney with papadums and I think it would also go really well with grilled or BBQ fish.

So once you have your kasundi you can start creating new dishes…..

To make the breakfast dish, I cut a rather large aubergine/egg plant into 8 wedges lengthways. Added 2 tablespoons of olive oil to a large frying pan and fried the aubergine over a medium heat on both sides until brown. Approx 3 minutes a side. Then add 1/3 of the kasundi ( 1 jar) to the frying pan, lowered the heat and simmered for 15 minutes. Poach some eggs to go with it. This will serve 2-3 people as a main dish. Serve the poached eggs on top of the kasundi and add some fresh coriander. Enjoy the spicy kick for breakfast!

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love tomato kasundi – haven’t made it for a long time so thanks for the reminder. Never thought to put it in a breakfast meal – although it may be supper for me!

    January 8, 2013
  2. That looks wonderful and ever so comforting! I’ll have to wait for the summer if I want to try that dish.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    January 8, 2013
  3. There is an Italian eggplant dish my husband makes which is similar to this but minus the egg. Though I think that could be a great addition. I believe you can eat any type of food for breakfast – every culture has different ideas on what should be eaten when. So we should listen to our taste buds and go for it.

    January 8, 2013
  4. I’ve never heard of kasundi before. What a lovely combination of ingredients and gorgeous photo!

    January 8, 2013
  5. That’s beautiful!

    January 8, 2013
  6. This is a good way to start a day, will keep that in mind spicy breakfast! This might solve my slow metabolism

    January 8, 2013
  7. antheahawdon #

    That kasundi recipe looks awesome. I shall definitely have to try it!

    January 9, 2013
  8. This sounds so delicious, I bought some black tomatoes at the market on Sunday that look like plums when you cut them! I was looking for something gorgeous to use them in, thank you!

    January 9, 2013
  9. What an interesting combination of flavors. I would also eat this for dinner.

    January 9, 2013
  10. You’ve done the tomatoes justice ;-)

    January 9, 2013
  11. What a wonderful way to start your morning…looks delicious!

    January 9, 2013
  12. Oh, my. Tomato Kasaundi. Takes me straight back to monsoon rains, summertime, cool frothy lassis …. I have not had tomato kasaundi in over a decade. . your post evokes all kinds of memories. Thank you for this reminder of a past life.
    Your breakfast looks delicious and inviting.

    January 11, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Food does provoke great memories and what wonderful ones ..monsoon rains, summertime and lassis! I would like to experience and remember food for the same reason one day.

      January 13, 2013
  13. I love savoury and a touch of spice for Breakfast and this would be perfect and a brilliant way of using up those veges.

    January 11, 2013
  14. Coming from the land of Kasundi I had never heard of a tomato Kasundi ever, until now! The on,y kind I know is made of raw mangoes and mustard seeds and pastes and other spices. I am so intrigued. I want to know more now.
    Very beautiful and convincing photo of your dish.

    January 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Now you have me intrigued too, I wonder if tomato is an anglo-ized version? I have a tone of plumbs to use do you think I could make one out of them too? I’m going to have a google! Thanks for your tip.

      January 13, 2013
      • I think it will work out great like the tomatoes. Slightly sweeter maybe.

        January 14, 2013
  15. THIS is my kind of breakfast! And lunch, brunch, snack, dinner, supper… :-)

    January 14, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Aubergine satay « Green and Ginger

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,369 other followers

