Skip to content

Fig & Brownie Truffle Birthday Slice

DSC_0063Do most food bloggers make their own birthday cake? I think they probably do. Here is mine, it’s a slice this year rather than a cake but I had something I wanted to try out and what better than to try it out on my birthday. You see, I had these amazing chocolates at Christmas which were figs stuffed with a chocolate truffle filling then the whole fig dipped in more chocolate. I couldn’t get enough of them and did think of making my own but shapely mini figs are not easy to find and it would be a bit fiddly to do. But that didn’t mean I couldn’t have something similar did it? My mind started wandering along how to convert all the ingredients into a cake. A layer of brownie as a stable base, next a layer of silky ganache combined with blended seed popping figs and finally a thin layer of ganache to give it a smooth finish.

It came out exactly how I envisioned it! So here it is, my Fig & Brownie Truffle Slice. It’s very rich but not too sweet because of the 70% cocoa chocolate. It’s a cake to share for sure and holds well in the fridge, you just need to let it come to room temperature before you eat it. Day four and we are still eating the slice, tasting as good as day one, so I would say it will keep for a week in the fridge in an airtight container.

Brownie Base – Ingredients

120g butter
100g 70% cocoa chocolate
3 Tbsp cocoa powder
3 free range eggs
180g castor sugar
150g plain flour

Method

Preheat oven to 180C

Grease & line a 20cm square cake tin.

Melt the butter in a medium saucepan then remove from the heat

Add the chocolate pieces and stir until the chocolate has melted.

Add the the cocoa powder and whisk until smooth.

Add in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the sugar and  flour to a smooth batter.

Pour the cake batter into the lined tin and bake for 30-35 minutes.

Fig Truffle Centre Layer – Ingredients
150g 70% cocoa chocolate
100ml single or whipping cream
250g dried figs
Method
Heat the cream in a small pan then remove from the heat.

Add the chocolate and stir till melted .

Put the figs (remove stalk if there is any) in a food processor and blitz till finely chopped.

Add the cream and chocolate to the figs in processor and blend together.

Spread the warm fig mixture over the warm brownie, there is no need to let cake cool at this stage.

Chocolate Ganache Top Layer – Ingredients
50g 70% cocoa chocolate
40ml single or whipping cream
Method
Heat the cream in a small pan then remove from the heat.

Add the chocolate to the hot cream and stir till melted. Pour the Ganache over cooled fig layer of cake.

Place in the fridge to cool until you want to serve the cake.

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. marietjie #

    Happy birthday Alli! Hope it is a wonderful year ahead – you are off to a good start with a yummy slice like this

    January 13, 2013
  2. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Oh Man do I love this recipe….Thank you so much Ms. Pease Pudding….and if it’s your birthday, Happy Birthday to you. I absolutely WILL be trying this recipe….and not just a slice either!!!

    January 13, 2013
  3. Wow that sounds decadently delicious. I love the combo of figs and dark chocolate. Happy Birthday Alli :)

    January 13, 2013
  4. Happy Birthday! Your slice of cake is gorgeous! I hope that you have a wonderful day!

    January 13, 2013
  5. Happy Birthday Alli! And yes, I do think all food bloggers make their own cakes, actually I think most women in general do ;-)

    January 13, 2013
  6. Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to youuuu…happy birthday to Aaaalli, happy birthday to youuuu…!!! :-) x

    January 13, 2013
  7. I should have known you were a Capricorn too – Happy birthday. I know I make my own birthday cakes. Yours looks truly scrumptious. I’m really impressed with how you turned those choccy fig truffles into a cake!

    January 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Capricorns rock hey ;O)

      January 14, 2013
  8. Have a wonderful birthday, Alli!

    January 13, 2013
  9. Happy Birthday to you! We make our own cakes as well on occasions like such but way back in the Philippines its easier to buy them as they are very cheap and we have lots of choices

    January 13, 2013
  10. Happy Birthday! I always make my own cakes and never buy any, but on my Birthday (25th December) I cannot be bothered to bake one (I wish somebody would do it for me)… ;-P

    This Brownie looks and sounds amazing!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    January 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Rosa, Ah 25th is not the best day for a birthday is it? Kinda gets lost in Christmas celebration! Although it does make you extra special born on that day :o)

      January 14, 2013
  11. I can taste the richness from the photo haha. Happy birthday! :D

    January 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Many thanks Marnelli :o)

      January 14, 2013
  12. Salome #

    Hi Alli
    Happy birthday! Hope you had a wonderful day.
    I would love to make this slice for my mum, but know that she would love nuts in it. What kind would you suggest and how many? Also, would you put it in the truffel layer or the brownie base? Thanks!

    January 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Salome, Yes nuts would be a great addition and I would put them in the brownie. Perhaps use a brownie recipe you know that has nuts in it. Otherwise i would suggest pistachio or pecan nuts, slightly chopped and about 140g

      January 14, 2013
  13. With my own birthday coming up this is just what I was thinking about. Do I make my own cake?
    Your recipe is so decadent. Love figs and chocolate and more chocolate!
    Happy Birthday! Hope you let your family and friends spoil you :)

    January 14, 2013
  14. My oldest daughter likes to make my birthday cake for me, but at some point, I’ll make my own and I’ve already got a list of cakes to try. Happy Bday!

    January 14, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks you! Lucky you having your daughter make one for you, hubby did say he could buy one but he said he was too worried I’d be disappointed, bless :o)

      January 14, 2013
  15. I rarely eat birthday cake and wouldn’t make my own. I did however, once have a girlfriend who made me the most delicious brownies for my birthday and you’ve reminded me of a lovely day, 20 years ago ;-)
    …and your recipe sounds good too!

    January 14, 2013
  16. Shirley #

    Ahhh delicious indeed!!!
    Happy Birthday too!

    January 14, 2013
  17. This sounds gorgeous and I shall be adapting the base without the flour :o) Don’t think I can wait till my birthday though to do it :o)

    Happy Birthday Alli, hope you had a wonderful day.

    January 14, 2013
  18. Very happy birthday to you, I hope you had a wonderful day! That cake both looks and sounds to die for; so rich and delicious, perfect for a celebration!

    January 15, 2013
  19. yummmm! Figs, Brownie, Truffle… my minds gone into overload

    January 15, 2013
  20. Happy birthday! Now im wondering if I should try this out for my upcoming birthday as well!

    January 15, 2013
  21. Happy birthday! I love that thick layer of chocolate on top. I must be hungry – time to cook dinner.

    January 15, 2013
  22. Many happy returns!

    January 16, 2013
  23. OH… MY… LORD… died and gone to figgy chocolate heaven!!!
    happy birthday.
    ps i cannot believe it has lasted four days.

    January 16, 2013
  24. Happy Birthday!
    Figs & chocolate – I’ve never tried the combination but it sounds delicious.
    And yes, this blogger also makes her own birthday cakes ;-)

    January 20, 2013
  25. Happy Birthday Alli,so sorry I missed it! Finding it really difficult to keep up at the moment. Fig & chocolate torte sounds amazing, I love figs. i’ve been experimenting with vegan baking for one of my courses, just made a chocolate tart with date caramel layer. Date caramel is heaven, bet it would be gorgeous in a fig truffle!!! x

    January 25, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Nat, I totally understand I have the same problem keeping up with blog reading… As well as writing. At least you are going great guns on the posting. My head is too jammed with a new food venture/business at the moment so I’m not get to much else.

      January 25, 2013
  26. sounds delicious!!

    February 13, 2013
  27. Lovely recipe. Funny thing about birthdays…I never make my own cake. Possibly the only time I don’t get into the kitchen. Strange, eh?

    March 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,379 other followers

