Skip to content

Sweet Corn, Pea & Halloumi Herb Fritters

DSC_0093A nice easy brunch recipe that is quick to put together if you always have corn in the cupboard or peas in the freezer like we do. The key to this recipe is to use lots of herbs, so where I note a large handful I mean LARGE, not a few leaves. Think Jamie Oliver, wildly tearing heads of herbs off their stalks and using the lot, no point saving the rest for a rainy day, chances are they will wilt away in the fridge. Unless of course you have your own garden supply, mine has dwindled with our new resident hens who have got into my herb garden and made it into a dust bath. The fencing will go up this weekend to keep them out and new herbs will be planted. Speaking of our hens, when we adopted them one of the hens, Beryl, had a baby chick which we were excited about the prospect of more eggs once it grew up. Well the chick has become a teenage, it’s a bit like the ugly duckling story because our cute baby chick is starting to resemble a Pea Hen (hopefully not Peacock) and not a egg laying chicken! They say hens will adopt any eggs or chicks if they are broody and it appears that is what Beryl has done. Below is a picture of ‘Pea’ very timid and hiding under our deck.

DSC_0065

Makes approx 16 small fritters
Ingredients
4 large free range eggs (or 5 small)
200g garden peas (frozen is fine)
400g tin of creamed corn
Large handful of fresh parsley, mint and coriander, finely chopped
Zest of 1 lemon
2 Tbsp plain flour
200g halloumi, diced small
Salt & Pepper to season
Vegetable oil for frying
Method
In a large bowl whisk together the eggs.
Add the frozen peas (they will defrost quickly), tinned corn, herbs & lemon zest to the whisked eggs.
Sift the flour over the vegetable & herb mix in the bowl and stir through until combined.
Add the diced Halloumi and stir through again. We add the halloumi last so it doesn’t break up.
Season with salt & pepper, the mixture should be fairly thick at this stage, if not add another tablespoon of flour..
In a large frying pan over a medium heat add  2 tablespoons of vegetable oil.
Spoon a tablespoon of mixture into the pan to make each fritter, add another three making sure fritters have enough space to flip them over.
Cook fritter for approximately 2 minutes until golden brown then flip over with a spatula.
Cook second side for the same length of time.
Remove fritters from the pan and place on a tray covered with kitchen roll to soak an excess fat.
Add a little more oil to the frying pan and cook more fritters, repeat process till all mixture is cooked.

20 Comments Post a comment
  1. Now if I’d seen this earlier, I might just have made them for dinner tonight, never mind brunch as I’ve got some haloumi in ze fridge. I’ll need to see how you get on with your hens, I’m starting to think about getting them.

    January 19, 2013
  2. I really enjoy these kinds of fritters. Pea certainly looks a bit odd. She probably feels a bit odd too. Not quite a hen and not quite a peacock.

    January 20, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      I’m not sure what we will do with her, she can fly well too so who knows if she will hang around. But maybe she will if she thinks she is a hen!

      January 20, 2013
  3. What a yum idea! I’ve never thought of putting halloumi in fritters. These look quite convenient too.

    January 20, 2013
  4. What great fritters. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to find halloumi in Geneva…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    January 20, 2013
  5. Delicious! I love corn fritters! Your recipe has a fabulous combination of flavors. I like the addition of the peas, herbs and halloumi. This is a must try! Thank you!

    January 20, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Thanks Tessa, it’s definitely the herbs that make it. I have also made them with feta which is good too.

      January 20, 2013
  6. Those fritters look great! I suppose you could eat peahen eggs, though they might not lay many or any without a mate… Maybe she’ll think she’s a chicken :-)

    January 20, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      I’m worried she may grow too big to sleep in the coop!

      January 20, 2013
  7. Talking about herbs, yes youre right mine always wilt in the fridge but recently I freeze them and use them later like the dried ones.

    January 20, 2013
  8. Those look wonderful. What a great color.

    January 21, 2013
  9. i’ve only recently cooked anything haloumi for myself – i’ve eaten it when i’m out, but never used it at home. probably because it is so addictive! a friend gave me a pea haloumi fritter recipe – they are next on the list.

    January 24, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      It is very addictive, I make a big batch and freeze it off in batches so I don’t scoff it all at once. It still cooks well after freezing.

      January 25, 2013
  10. These look so good! My sort of cooking!

    February 3, 2013
  11. I really fancy makng these for dinner, they sound lovely. I can’t get creamed corn here, do you think if I pureed some frozen corn it would work? I’ve had corn fritters explode in the pan before. Tasty but more of a hash than a fritter! ;)

    February 6, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Nat, yes definitely puree some corn, that will work just fine. Feta would be nice too.

      February 12, 2013
  12. Those fritters sounds gorgeous. Halloumi is such a delicious cheese and I could see how well it would work here. A peahen, that’s really quite funny. Are you going to keep her?

    February 10, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      My husband is a big softy so I think Pea is here to stay if she behaves herself. I hear peacocks can be quite destructive to gardens!

      February 12, 2013
  13. I just stumbled across this recipe, and I am very excited because I am planning to make corn fritters tonight. I love halloumi, but never thought of adding them to a fritter. Definitely stopping past the grocery store to pick up some halloumi on the way home tonight!

    August 6, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,374 other followers

