Skip to content

Cheese & Smoked Paprika Croissant Twists

DSC_0014

It’s been a whirlwind start to the year…looming redundancy, starting a patisserie stall at a local farmers market and now looking to expand. Most day’s I don’t know whether I am coming or going let alone take photos of food I am making and sharing them with you.

Hopefully I will have news soon about our new business venture but I will wait until we have something signed and sealed and then I will share all our plans with you. I can say though that I hope to be cooking every day.

I have bought a commercial dough mixer this week,  how exciting is that? It’s been a chore as demand grows making croissant dough, puff pastry, shortcrust – sweet and savoury, special pork pie and Cornish pasty pastries en-mass by hand. This week should be a breeze with the new machine and I will be dabbling with an Easter loaf recipe too.

I introduced these cheese & paprika twist to the market last week and sold out! Here is the recipe below.

Ingredients

1 and 1/3 cups luke warm water

1.5 tsp instant yeast

450g flour

200g butter

2 Tbsp sugar

200g cheese, grated

1 heaped tsp smoked paprika

Method

Pre-heat oven on fan bake 200C and line 4 baking trays with baking paper.

Place the luke warm water into a small bowl and add the yeast. Let it dissolve.

In a large bowl add the flour & sugar then mix in the water and dissolved yeast. Bring everything together to a soft dough (tacky but not sticky). Knead dough for 3 minutes.

I use commercial slabs of butter which make it easier so I suggest you slice the butter block into 6 if you can.

Roll the dough to approx 20 cm x 60cm. Lay 3 slices of butter at one end and fold it over towards the middle so butter in enclosed.

Lay the other 3 slices of butter ontop of folded dough and bring the opposite end over to cover butter. Press around edges to seal butter in and turn so open ends face you.

Gently press down along the dough then roll to existing size 20 x 60cm.

Rest in the fridge until butter it cold and hard ( several hours)

Remove dough from fridge and repeat the process 2 more times, resting in fridge between both rollings.

Cut dough in half and roll each half to approx 20 x 40 cm.

Sprinkle with grated cheese and paprika.

Longways, cut 6 strips. Roll each strip up enclosing the cheese and put onto a baking tray covered in baking paper.  4 to a tray so they have plenty space.

All twist to prove till double in size (this will depend on how warm your kitchen is).

Bake for 12-15 minutes

Enjoy!

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. That sounds like an excellent breakfast :-)

    March 12, 2013
  2. I love the addition of the smoked paprika! Looks fabulous! No doubt that you sold out!

    March 12, 2013
  3. Yum. I want these with a spiced tomato soup.

    March 12, 2013
  4. Thought you were a bit quiet on the blogging front. Hope all goes well for you, sounds exciting though. Not surprised these sold out, they look super. And if you do manage a sweet bite in March, remember I’m hosting Sweet New Zealand this month (plug, plug!) – http://eatetc-lesley.blogspot.co.nz/2013/02/sweet-new-zealand.html

    March 12, 2013
  5. These look delicious Alli. I must try these out soon with my hubbie and daughter.

    March 12, 2013
  6. That is a wonderful treat! I love those flavors. A great idea.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    March 13, 2013
  7. This is one of the things I want to do at home croissants.
    Good luck with your new venture!

    March 13, 2013
  8. I couldn’t pin that fast enough. Looks amazing!

    March 13, 2013
  9. Beautiful photo. And what a delicious idea—it’s obvious why they sold out!

    March 13, 2013
  10. I feel a bit the same, I think that I have too many things on my plate, the only thing is that, being a freelancer, I am used to irregular income. But yes, I never know if I am coming or going and time for blogging too is sparse, especially visiting other blogs… I think I need a glass of wine, and these twists would go down very well with it! Where is your stall? Hobsonville?

    Ciao
    Alessandra

    March 13, 2013
  11. Can’t wait to hear the big reveal! The croissant twists look gorgeous, I can almost hear the crispiness.

    March 15, 2013
  12. Wow, sounds like things are really gathering momentum, Alli, and a commercial pastry machine – that really is exciting. These twists look great, but I have to admit I am a bit lazy and would probably make them out of bought puff pastry :-)

    March 15, 2013
  13. My kind of snack :) Though like Sue likely bought puff pastry :)

    March 19, 2013
  14. Wow! i love the addition of smoked paprika…. i will definitely try this….

    March 20, 2013
  15. as smoky paprika is my favourite flavouring at the momnet, how can i say no to these?
    good luck with everything.

    March 20, 2013
  16. Wow it’s all go at your end isn’t it! So happy that it is happening for you and excited to hear about your new venture soon! I would definitely have bought a batch of those from you, they are just the sort of thing that I have trouble making at home, that’s your USP! x

    March 26, 2013
  17. ah! proper croissant dough! love it! thanks for sharing!

    May 20, 2013
  18. Uuuuhhmm…? YUM! :D

    /Frida

    June 16, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,368 other followers

