Skip to content

Custard & Raspberry Jam Doughnuts

DSC_0017I’m afraid I am going to torture you with a photograph only today and no recipe. The pictured doughnuts are rapidly becoming the most popular item on my patisserie list so I am being mean and not sharing it’s secret, not just yet anyway. Well I don’t want you all making your own and no longer visiting me at my stall do I? That would be sad to not see your faces every Saturday or Sunday.

The end of the week is a crazy one, making all my own pastries for all the goodies to sell on Saturday and Sunday; puff, shortcrust, hot water, croissant, brioche dough and bread. It’s very rewarding though as it comes out the oven and the neighbours knock on the door when they get a waft of the sweet and savoury aromas.  As well as the market stall on Sunday I have a growing list of orders from Muriwai locals who stop by my kitchen on Saturday and collect their weekend treats.

So instead of a recipe I leave you with this weeks menu, in hope some of you Auckland locals reading this will pop Hobsonville Point Market by and say hello! Happy weekend!

Savoury Pastries

Seasonal Galettes – Leek,Walnut Pesto, Halloumi & Roasted Tomato. Roasted Beetroot & Feta. Caramelised Onion, Halloumi & Field Mushroom

Handmade Traditional Pork Pies

Cornish Pasties – Beef & Mustard. Chicken, Leek & Tarragon
Large Croissant Cheese Twists/Stick
Bacon & Egg Pies

Pork & fennel Sausage Rolls

Multigrain loaf (500g) – $5 (please order

Sweet Pastries
French Caramel Apple Tart
Eccles Cakes

Crisp Palmiers

Apricot Danish

Pacific Panforte– Mango, Macadamia, Coconut

Vanilla Custard & Raspberry Filled Doughnuts

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. I wish I could visit your stall and buy these doughnuts! They look fabulous.

    April 13, 2013
  2. Angela #

    Hi, I live in Brisbane in Australia. I do not have a hope of getting to your stall…it would be a delight though to taste your gorgeous donuts
    I love your blog and am a keen follower,
    Regards
    Angela

    April 13, 2013
  3. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I have died and gone to donut heaven. Thank you Pease Pudding.

    April 13, 2013
  4. Di Gully #

    Oh my, thought my husband was going to lick the screen…. Bit far from Aust…. Can’t wait for the recipe though… ;>

    April 13, 2013
  5. They look lovely! Doughnuts are just irresistible. Believe it or not, as a child I used to dislike them… ;-)

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    April 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Rosa, I loved them as a child but they were a very infrequent fairground treat. Such great memories :0)

      April 13, 2013
  6. I’m not a big donut fan, oddly enough, given the adoration I have for puddings and other such finery. These do look enticing though and even I would have to try one! I use to follow your blog in Durham ,UK, a kiwi lass living north England whilst you are a NW woman loving the living out here! I am so pleased for you that you are having your own place and sharingthe love. i live on Waiheke now, and spent the morning gathering goodies at our local market, but man, I wish I could slip by hobsonville. Will come out one day ..easy to get cabin fever here after 25 years in the UK. Gotta love the isle though, AM

    April 13, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Anna-Michelle, if you do get to Hobsonville one day you must introduce yourself. Waiheke is very cool, love their market and I remember a French pastry stall there last time we visited. Keep intouch. Alli

      April 13, 2013
  7. Oh.. they look delicious, your doughnuts! Unfortunately your stall is far too far from Berlin to show up. Hej, in some parts of Germany your doughnuts are called “Berliner”, in other (eg. in Berlin) “Pfannkuchen” (pancakes) or “Krapfen”… Always a big discussion what name is right ;-)

    April 13, 2013
  8. Oh my! How delicious do they look! Do you do postage to Sydney?! ;-)

    April 13, 2013
  9. Such a tease, Alli!! I’ve been lusting after these doughnuts from afar, but I can understand you wanting to keep the secret xo

    April 13, 2013
  10. Oh yum!

    April 13, 2013
  11. Reblogged this on TheBestEats and commented:
    This lOOKS DELICIOUS!!

    April 13, 2013
  12. Delicious and I can get them from the St. John, so no jealousy here ;-)

    April 13, 2013
  13. Tessa #

    Gorgeous doughnuts and wonderful photography! Have a prosperous weekend :).

    April 13, 2013
  14. I am on the other side of the world and the chances of my strolling to your Sunday market stall are… small-ish. Unlike my hips which are… large-ish. Mostly due to a love of jam & custard doughnuts and brioche smothered in sweet butter & jam. So, should you ever feel that sharing the recipe for those incredibly beautiful doughnuts is possible… Well, one can always buy a pair of trousers a size up the scale but one can’t always find beautiful doughnuts :-)

    April 13, 2013
  15. AHHHH! Any chance of a mail order hehe

    April 14, 2013
  16. I will visit your shop someday :)

    April 14, 2013
  17. I can see why they are are so popular. How gorgeous! I am sure your stall is the most popular in the market.

    April 14, 2013
  18. Those look like the type of doughnuts from which the filling starts oozing out the moment you take a bite :)

    April 14, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Yes, you have to be careful the filling doesn’t drip down your front :o)

      April 14, 2013
  19. Shirley #

    How delicious are those!!! Mike says he would like some now please :)

    April 14, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Tell Mike I will make him a batch when he visits :o)

      April 14, 2013
  20. i thought i wanted to go back to paris for the food and pastries.
    now i want to go to auckland!!

    April 14, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      And we would love to host you in Auckland too!

      April 17, 2013
  21. Oh my – these look positively intoxicating. What a beautiful photograph!

    April 15, 2013
  22. These look so yummy, I should come to that market one day when I am back in NZ, I have only been once. Why don’t you come down to Oratia Farmers Market on Saturday? Maybe too much too bake…

    April 15, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Alessandra, I did try to do Oratia but they didn’t have a space for me :o)

      April 17, 2013
  23. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Cheers

    April 18, 2013
  24. Oh real doughnuts, I miss them so! these ones look divine, wish i was not so far away from you and your stall! i can see why they are selling so well.. c

    April 22, 2013
  25. Jo #

    It’s like the market version of little & friday…delish!

    April 26, 2013
  26. No recipe :( They look so so good! It’s almost like I can taste the powdery sugar beginning of these minis. I love your photographs!

    May 6, 2013
  27. Waaaaaah:-( but what about us folk who live far, far away across an ocean who can’t visit you to try these? These look to die for or maybe to swim across several oceans to find you and buy one:-)

    May 17, 2013

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

