Skip to content

Ham Hock, Cannellini Beans and a few Autumnal Photos

DSC_0006 (3)It’s getting colder and wetter here in New Zealand as we stumble towards autumn. I say stumble because at this time of year we can still swing between glorious warm days or wet and blustery days, particularly on our wild West Coast. But that’s no reason to be sad, we have hearty winter fare to look forward to, roasts, stews and dishes with dumplings! Not only that I get to wear my new boots that have been in a box for several months waiting for colder days. I have a thing for UK shoes still even after 13 years here and buy online out of season, the benefits are two fold. Something different to what is selling on the high street and picking up the out of season sales price.

Enough shoe talk and onto the ham hock and cannellini bean stew. I used a pressure cooker to make this dish being short on time and just a tad impatient so if you don’t have one you will probably have to cook the ham at least an hour and a half or until it falls off the bone. Recipe below the pics from a misty Muriwai morning.

photo-3 (1)

photo (1)

 

photo-1 (1)

Ingredients – serves 4

1 small smoked ham hock (uncooked)

1 onion, peeled, halved & thinly sliced

4 cloves garlic, crushed,

1 tin chopped tomatoes

2 tins cannellini beans

small bunch parsley, finely chopped

zest of 1 lemon

Method

Place the onion in the pan/pressure cooker with olive oil over a medium heat and cook for 5 minutes until the onions are soft.

Add the tinned tomatoes, garlic and ham hock.

Cook in pressure cooker per manufactures instructions for 35 minutes.

Once cooked pull the ham off the bone and remove the bone from the pan.

Add the cannellini beans, chopped parsley and lemon zest.

Season with black pepper, it won’t need salt as the ham hock should be salty enough.

Serve with crusty bread

19 Comments Post a comment
  1. A wonderfully comforting dish and scrumptious combination! Lovely landscape pictures.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    April 23, 2013
  2. Wonderfully comforting and warming autumn dish, Alli, and lovely photos xo

    April 23, 2013
  3. Love soups and like you I am already making some with the cooler weather. I shall add this to my repertoire. Some lovely shots of Muriwai too!

    April 23, 2013
  4. I simply adore that comfort soup! Wonderful photography, as always!

    April 23, 2013
  5. That sounds delicious – the sort of thing I’d cook myself – in a pressure cooker ;-)

    April 23, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      funny, I had never used one until I met hubby, always poo..pooed them but perfect for a quick delish dinner!

      April 23, 2013
  6. I was just saying to a friend last week that I need more bean-y, wintry dishes to start making. I’m adding this to my menus for next week for sure. It looks delicious.

    April 23, 2013
  7. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I LoVe this recipe and the photos are magnificent. Thank you Pease Pudding.

    April 23, 2013
  8. lovely photos Alli ! and yummy soup, just what i
    feel like !

    April 23, 2013
  9. Great comfort food. It could get cold any day now but I haven’t got out the winter clothes quite yet.

    April 23, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      I only have the winter boots out Suzanne, no woolies yet ;o)

      April 29, 2013
  10. Lovely photos and wonderful bean soup!

    April 23, 2013
  11. Wow I love your first landscape shot!

    April 23, 2013
  12. This looks absolutely wonderful – just the kind of thing that I love to cook and eat. Beautiful photographs too. Autumn in Muriwai looks pretty amazing!

    April 24, 2013
  13. Deliciously autumnal photographs and recipe. I am like you though buying clothes out of season to get them in the sale :o

    April 27, 2013
  14. jenny woolston #

    Looks great – can you substitue the smoked ham hock for a bacon one? My local butcher and Countdown don’t sell ham hocks only bacon.

    April 28, 2013
    • peasepudding #

      Hi Jenny, yes a bacon hock would be the way to go. I think that is what I meant but we call it ham in the UK. I will modify the recipe to make it clearer for all. Enjoy!

      April 29, 2013
  15. This looks perfect for a winters day. I might have to give it a go. Thanks for sharing

    May 8, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Smoked ham hock my way | #bestblogs13 | Yummy Lummy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

