Skip to content

Colourful Raw Pad Thai Omelet & a Matching Colourful Retro Outfit

 (5)

Hello world…..I’m still here!

As the weather warms up Our Girls (hens) having been laying lots of eggs and we are struggling to keep up eating them all. Of course friends are welcome benefactors of these beautiful golden yolked free range eggs. Since I bake sweet treats every day in work I tend not to bake at home so I am having to be a bit creative with the eggs rather than just boiled, poached and scrambled. This Raw Pad Thai Salad inside the omelet is quick to make and adds a fragrance and texture to the dish.  Tonight we are having another egg dish, Malaysian Egg Curry which I love and you can find a recipe here.

So I may not have had much time to write blog posts lately but I have managed to keep up with my shopping habits :o) Luckily for me all the best retro and vintage shopping is online so I can still fit that in when all the shops are shut and I have my feed up with a cuppa. Can’t wait for the summer to get here so I can sport this new outfit of mine.

Ingredients

This is really just an rough idea per omelet, you can vary the type of veg you like. The ingredients are per omelet below so increase per person.

Handful each of grated/shredded carrot, cabbage & spinach per omelet

2 eggs per omelet

zest & juice of 1/2 lime

pinch of sugar or honey

small piece of grated fresh ginger

Tbsp of chopped coriander

Pinch of chili powder or fresh chopped.

1 small kaffir lime leaf, finely chopped

1 Tbsp olive oil

I’m not going to tell you how to make an omelet, I’ll let you make it your favourite way.

Place the shredded cabbage, carrots and ginger in a bowl.

Mix all the dressing ingredients together and add to the veg mix and toss through.

Place the cooked omelet on a plate and fill one side with the Raw Pad Thai Salad. Fold the other half of omelet over and enjoy. This would also make a nice ‘packed’ lunch the next day, just keep your salad separate from the omelet and assembly when you are ready to eat it.

il_570xN.470692942_fkbm

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. That is a great idea. Your omelet looks wonderfully healthy and tasty.

    I love that outfit! I’m sure you’ll rock it like a star.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    October 2, 2013
  2. It really looks soft on the outside and crunchy on the inside. Looks like a tasty recipe & by the way, I love the retro inspiration.

    October 2, 2013
  3. That looks delicious and that’s a great dress too!

    October 2, 2013
  4. Jueseppi B. #

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat™.

    October 2, 2013
  5. I would never have thought to put those flavors in an omelet — it looks delicious! How did it work with the eggs?

    October 2, 2013
  6. foodloveinspiration #

    Reblogged this on FoodLoveInspiration.

    October 2, 2013
  7. Wow – that looks great. So colourful!

    October 2, 2013
  8. Looks and sounds delicious Ally. Love the retro outfit too!

    October 2, 2013
  9. yum

    October 4, 2013
  10. It looks similar to the Philippine Lumpiang Sariwa, we use nearly the same toppings but in a crepe with sweet peanut sauce. Love this types of recipes.

    October 7, 2013
  11. Yum, looks like a nice light dish for the summer! Love your skirt too!

    October 17, 2013
  12. This sounds wonderful! What a great idea!

    October 28, 2013
  13. Love this idea, Alli – what a great idea for an omelette filling. Love that this is something I could make the night before and then take to work for lunch the next day.

    Love that gorgeous wee outfit too – I bet you look stunning in it. Very you xo

    November 2, 2013
  14. Hey, I simply enjoyed exploring your space :) Will be a regular visitor now on… Lovely to connect! Visit me @ http://www.cookingwithsj.com in your free time :)

    April 20, 2014

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,370 other followers

